Henderlite Named VaSID First-Team All-State

Henderlite Named VaSID First-Team All-State

For immediate release – 6/10/2013 - #432
Henderlite Named VaSID First-Team All-State

NEWPORT NEWS, VA – The Virginia Sports Information Directors released their All-State College Division team today and Lynchburg baseball sophomore Martin Henderlite found himself on the first-team.

Christopher Newport University's Austin Chrismon was named State Pitcher of the Year while teammate Justin Weaver was Player of the Year. Randolph-Macon College's Mitchell Keeler was named Rookie of the Year while his coach, Ray Hedrick was named State Coach of the Year.

Henderlite put together one of the best single-season pitching efforts in recent memory for the baseball team. Martin's 1.12 ERA led the Old Dominion Athletic Conference and was less than half of the next lowest (2.27). Henderlite also led the conference with eight wins, two more than the second place finisher, while striking out 55 batters.

The 2013 ODAC Pitcher of the Year had a 0.94 ERA in the conference, due in part to a 25 consecutive inning scoreless streak that spanned four starts. On the year, Henderlite allowed a miniscule five earned runs in conference play.

2013 VaSID College Division All-State Baseball Teams
First Team
C – Wes Walker, Sr., Ferrum
1B – Alex Maragos, Sr., Washington & Lee
2B – Jimbo Newcomb, Sr., Averett
3B – Andrew Hacker, Sr., Bridgewater
SS – Mitch Stevenson, Jr., Southern Virginia
OF – Nick Fulk, Jr., Bridgewater
OF – Justin Weaver, Jr., CNU
OF – Jonathan Mason, Sr., Bridgewater
DH – Mitchell Keeler, Fr., Randolph-Macon
SP – Austin Chrismon, Jr., CNU
SP – Martin Henderlite, So., Lynchburg
SP – Bryan Bierlein, Jr., CNU
RP – Ryan Fleischmann, Sr., CNU
RP – Luke Rabiej, Sr., Hampden-Sydney

Second Team
C – Jono Haught, So., Mary Washington
1B – Seth Jordan, Sr., Mary Washington
2B – JJ McDaniel, So., Shenandoah
3B – Mikey Paul, So., Shenandoah
SS – Jonathan Stutts, Sr., Washington & Lee
OF – Chris Aldridge, Jr., Apprentice
OF – Andrew Kirks, Jr., Averett
OF – Jeb Weymouth, Sr., Randolph-Macon
DH – Andrew Creamer, Jr., Shenandoah
SP – Torey Mancari, Sr., Mary Washington
SP – Brandon Taylor, Fr., CNU
SP – Taylor Gomer, Fr., Apprentice
RP – Nick Corbin, Jr., Bridgewater
RP – Will Jennings, Fr., Randolph-Macon

Player of the Year: Justin Weaver, Christopher Newport University
Pitcher of the Year: Austin Chrismon, Christopher Newport University
Rookie of the Year: Mitchell Keeler, Randolph-Macon College
Coach of the Year: Ray Hedrick, Randolph-Macon College

Averett Outlasts LC 8-5
March 5, 2013 Averett Outlasts LC 8-5