Hornets Have Four Selected to All-State Field Hockey Team

Hornets Have Four Selected to All-State Field Hockey Team

For immediate release – 12/13/2012 - #196
Four Hornets Selected to All-State Field Hockey Team
Mary Washington Takes Home Top Two Awards

LYNCHBURG, VA – The University of Mary Washington claimed the top two honors Wednesday with the release of the 2012 Field Hockey College Division All-State Team, as voted on by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID). Lynchburg College had four members on the all-state teams, including first teamers Lindsay Leonard, Shelly Milks and Nicole Marburger. Melanie Tenney earned a second-team spot.  

Senior midfielder Lisa Charney was voted the Player of the Year, while her head coach Lindsey Elliott earned All-State Coach of the Year accolades. Shenandoah University's Alexandra Darrow was selected as the Rookie of the Year.

Charney earned National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFCA) first-team All-American honors after setting a UMW season record with 25 goals (seven game-winners). She was named NFHCA Regional Player of the Year and Capital Athletic Conference (CAC) Co-Player of the Year. Charney also was named the SynapseSports.com National Division III Player of the Year.

Elliott led Mary Washington to a 20-2 record and guided the Eagles to the 2012 NCAA Division III National Championship semifinals. The Eagles won the CAC regular season and tournament titles, and finished with five wins over nationally-ranked opponents this year, including a win at #1 ranked and undefeated Salisbury. She was voted the 2012 CAC Coach of the Year.

Darrow, a midfielder, was the 2012 ODAC Rookie of the Year and a second-team All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference selection.

Christopher Newport University had eight players selected to the all-state teams, including five on the first-team. Lynchburg College had three first-teamers, while UMW had two student-athletes named on the first-team and Shenandoah had one.

First Team
D – Shelby Judkins, Jr., CNU
D – Nicole Marburger, Jr., Lynchburg
D – Amber VanHorn, Sr., Shenandoah
D – Haley Kane, Fr., Mary Washington
M – Shelly Milks, Sr., Lynchburg
M – Caitlin Cahill, Sr., CNU
M – Lisa Charney, Sr., Mary Washington
F – Lindsay Leonard, Sr., Lynchburg
F – Belle Tunstall, So., CNU
F – Lindsay Hendricks, Sr., CNU
G - Jamie Dowling, Sr., CNU

Second Team
D – Melanie Tenney, Jr., Lynchburg
D – Chelsea Hines, Jr., CNU
D – Breanne Lowe, Sr., CNU
D – Riley Hampsch, Jr., W&L
M – Caitlin Baker, Jr., Mary Washington
M – Alexandra Darrow, Fr., Shenandoah
M – Marlene Lichty, Jr., CNU
F – Taylor Prillaman, Fr., Bridgewater
F – Jenna Steele, Fr., Mary Washington
F – Carrie Jacobs, So., Randolph-Macon
G - Claire Gianelle, Sr., UMW

VaSID Coach of the Year – Lindsey Elliott, Mary Washington
VaSID Player of the Year – Lisa Charney, Mary Washington
VaSID Rookie of the Year – Alexandra Darrow, Shenandoah