Vote Now to Send Manny Hernandez to National Slam Dunk Contest: Link Included

Vote Now to Send Manny Hernandez to National Slam Dunk Contest: Link Included




Winner To Compete In 26th Annual State Farm

College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships at 7 p.m. ET April 3 on ESPN


CHICAGO (February 10, 2014) – Intersport, producers of the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, today announced first round voting for the 2014 "State Farm Dark Horse Dunker" competition is now open and runs through Feb. 24. The 16-player field is stocked with under-the-radar players who possess the power, creativity, and hops to compete against college basketball's stars in the Slam Dunk Championship. Fans will determine the winner by voting daily on Facebook ( throughout the five-week competition.

The "State Farm Dark Horse Dunker" is a bracket-style elimination competition. Round One voting is open for two weeks and features eight head-to-head matchups. Winners will be announced Feb. 24 when Round Two opens. Voting for Round Two, the Semi-Finals, and the Finals will be open one week each. The champion will be announced March 17 and compete in Dallas on April 3. Fans can view a video of each dunker and cast their vote at

The Round One matchups are:

  • Jordan Adams (Western State Colorado University) vs. Chris Udofia (University of Denver)
  • Kevin Anthony (Lycoming College) vs. Jonathan Ouegnin (Mercyhurst University)
  • Glenn Bryant (Eastern Michigan University) vs. Mike Kaufman (Lesley University)
  • Will Giddings (SW Minnesota State University) vs. Brison White (Northwestern State University)
  • Manny Hernandez (Lynchburg College) vs. Kenny Williams (Angelo State University)
  • Deonte Jones (Texas Wesleyan University) vs. Justin Simmons (University of Nebraska Omaha)
  • Marcus Lewis (Eastern Kentucky University) vs. Sam Johnson (Minot State University)
  • Khobi Williamson (Hampden-Sydney College) vs. Jerran Young (Wright State University)

Previous "State Farm Dark Horse Dunker" winners include Corey Law (High Point University) in 2013, James Justice (Martin Methodist College) in 2012. The 2011 winner, Jacob Tucker (Illinois College), went on to win the Slam Dunk Championship.

About State Farm®
State Farm and its affiliates are the largest provider of car insurance in the U.S. and is a leading insurer in Canada. In addition to providing auto insurance quotes, their 17,800 agents and more than 65,000 employees serve 81 million policies and accounts – more than 79 million auto, home, life and health policies in the United States and Canada, and nearly 2 million bank accounts. Commercial auto insurance, along with coverage for renters, business owners, boats and motorcycles, is also available. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 43 on the Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit or in Canada

About Intersport

Since 1985, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports and entertainment-based marketing platforms. Intersport creates unique content and experiences that attract and engage passionate audiences through four divisions: Sponsorship & Event Marketing, Sports Properties, Sports & Entertainment Content (for broadcast and digital media), and CelebTV. These experiences range from the ultra-exclusive to the biggest stages in sports and entertainment. Intersport also owns and operates several annual, televised events including the Under Armour All-America High School Football Game, the College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, the Hockey City Classic, the All-Star Football Challenge. To learn more about Intersport, log on to, like us on Facebook ( or follow us on Twitter (@IntersportBuzz).