Koudelka Repeats as VaSID Coach of the Year, Four Hornets Honored

Koudelka Repeats as VaSID Coach of the Year, Four Hornets Honored

For immediate release – 6/13/2013 - #432
Koudelka Three Peats as VaSID Coach of the Year, Four Hornets Honored

LYNCHBURG, VA –The Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) released its 2013 All-State College Division Men's Lacrosse Team Wednesday afternoon, and Lynchburg College head coach Steve Koudelka earned VaSID Coach of the Year honors after leading his team to the NCAA Round of Eight.

Vin Curran, Jon Gill, and Max Voumard were all named First-Team All-State, while Tommy Kestermann was the lone Hornet on the second-team.

Koudelka continued his reign of success for the Hornets men's lax squad, as Lynchburg posted a 14-6 record on the season. Most notably, the Hornets had a nice trip through the NCAA Tournament, defeating both St. Mary's (MD) College and Roanoke College before falling to eventual national champion Stevenson University in the round of eight. This marks the second straight time and third overall that Koudelka has been named State Coach of the Year.

Voumard garners first-team honors after leading the Hornets with 34 goals and 43 points while finishing second with 42 ground balls.

Joining Voumard on the first-team is Gill and Curran. The junior, Gill, scooped 37 ground balls while leading the Hornet defense with 25 caused turnovers. Curran rounds out the first-team selections after taking over face-off duties this spring while still managing to be one of the team's most potent scorers. He won 54 percent of his face-off opportunities and led the squad with 71 ground balls. Curran was third on the team with 29 goals and finished with 36 points.

Kestermann is on the second-team after providing great defense for LC, causing 24 turnovers, second-most on the team. The junior also scooped the second-highest total of ground balls with 52, most among defensemen.

Richard Lachlan of Roanoke College was named VaSID Player of the Year while Virginia Wesleyan College's Josh Currier was named VaSID Rookie of the Year to round out the individual awards.

2013 VaSID All-State College Division Men's Lacrosse Team
VaSID Player of the Year – Richard Lachlan, Sr., Roanoke
VaSID Coach of the Year – Steve Koudelka, Lynchburg
VaSID Rookie of the Year – Josh Currier, Virginia Wesleyan

1st Team
GK – Charles Peace, Jr., Roanoke
D – Joe LaSala, Sr., Washington and Lee
D – Jon Gill, Jr., Lynchburg
D – Andrew Fusselbaugh, Sr., Washington and Lee
LSM – Austin Black, Jr., Hampden-Sydney
M - Jason Andrews, Jr., Randolph-Macon
M – Vin Curran, Sr., Lynchburg
M – Max Voumard, Sr., Lynchburg
A – Richard Lachlan, Sr., Roanoke
A – Mac Means, Sr., Washington and Lee
A – Nick Pappas, Jr., Virginia Wesleyan

2nd Team
GK – Andy McGregor, Sr., Christopher Newport
D – Brenden Dwyer, So, Christopher Newport
D – Cameron Sheppard, Sr., Hampden-Sydney
D – Ned Bowden, Jr., Hampden-Sydney
D – Tommy Kestermann, Jr., Lynchburg
LSM – Noah Lessing, So., Washington and Lee
M – Brayden Gerrie, Sr., Roanoke
M – Mike Hayden, Sr., Roanoke
M – Jared Mitchell, Jr., Washington and Lee
A – Josh Currier, Fr., Virginia Wesleyan
A – Cameron Dabir, So., Washington and Lee
A – Conner DuBois, Sr., Roanoke

Alumni Game 2012
October 22, 2012 Alumni Game 2012
A Way of Life - Whit Tenant '04
September 21, 2012 A Way of Life - Whit Tenant '04