Men’s Lacrosse Earns Nine All-ODAC Honorees

Men’s Lacrosse Earns Nine All-ODAC Honorees

Forest, Va. – Nine Lynchburg men's lacrosse players were named all-conference Thursday afternoon after a second place finish in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) with senior Peter Kaye named to the Ray Rostan's Sportsmanship Team.

*Stats as of 5/11

First Team:

At attack, sophomore Evan Lombardo picked up first-team honors with 68 total points. The Franklin Park, NJ native led the ODAC with 55 goals while adding 13 assists. The education major had six goal performances at Shenandoah on 4/5 and vs. Roanoke in the ODAC semifinals on 5/5. Lombardo was also named ODAC Player of the Week twice this season, which was tied for the most in the conference.

Sophomore Seamus McDonald was named to the first team at the long-stick position. The Far Hills, NJ native picked up 44 ground balls and forced 19 turnovers in addition to two goals and three assists. McDonald was a vocal point of a defense that was second in the conference in total goals allowed. The computer science major picked up a season-high six groundballs at Randolph-Macon during a 19-7 win on 4/8.

Alexandria, Va. native, senior Cole Barrett earned first-team honors as a defenseman. The economics major caused a team-leading 23 turnovers while picking up 39 groundballs. Barret was the leader of the defensive unit that allowed just 8.78 goals against per game that was second best in conference play. This is the third time Barrett has been named all-conference and the second time to the first team.

Second Team:

Sophomore Nick Willertz was named to the second-team at the short-stick position, the Severn, MD native scooped a team-leading 60 ground balls and caused 13 turnovers. The computer science major also chipped in six assists and three goals for nine points.

Third Team:

At Attack, sophomore Andrew Thomas was named to the third team after scoring 45 goals and dishing out 10 assists for a total of 55 points.  The Roswell, Ga. native scored a career-high five goals during a 14-12 win over Sewanee in the second round the 2017 NCAA Tournament.

Senior midfielder Harrison Brennan picked up third team honors after netting 21 goals with 10 assists for 31 total points. The Salisbury, Md. native was fourth on the team in goals scored. The business major scored a season-high five goals and two assists during a 21-4 victory over Bridgewater on 3/11.

Senior midfielder Daniel Owens picked up third team honors behind his 28 goals and five assists. The accounting major from Alexandria, Va. was third on the team in goals scored and scored a career-high six goals during a 16-10 victory over Hampden-Sydney on 4/15.

Freshman Tyler Gallagher earned third team honors as a defenseman after picking up 22 ground balls and causing 21 turnovers. The Palmyra, Pa. native had a season-high four ground balls in an 18-7 victory over Randolph on 4/12.

Senior Chris Hamilton, a Somers, CT native, earned third team honors after scooping up 30 ground balls and forcing 23 turnovers. The mathematics major picked up four ground balls vs. Amherst on 3/18 and at Washington and Lee on 3/25. 

Ray Rostan Men's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team:

Senior Peter Kaye was named to the Ray Rostan Men's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team. The Annandale, Va. native was a critical member of the Hornet defense when they would go a man down throughout the season.

ODAC Player of the Year:
 A.J. Witherell, So., A, Washington and Lee
ODAC Coach of the Year: Jason Rostan, Hampden-Sydney
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Jason Sarro, Fr., A, Roanoke
ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Stephen LaTona, Sr., A, Shenandoah
All-ODAC First Team
Ian Levin Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Evan Lombardo So. Lynchburg
Jason Sarro Fr. Roanoke
A.J. Witherell So. Washington and Lee
Hunter Brown Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Kevin Jackson Sr. Roanoke
IV Stucker Jr. Roanoke
Long Stick
Seamus McDonald So. Lynchburg
Jack Hodgson Fr. Washington and Lee
Short Stick
Chad Fisher Sr. Roanoke
Cole Barrett Sr. Lynchburg
Conn Curry Jr. Roanoke
Kyle Gifford Jr. Washington and lee
Kent Henry Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Ben Judy Sr. Shenandoah
All-ODAC Second Team
Whit Griffin Sr. Washington and Lee
Stephen LaTona Sr. Shenandoah
Peter Lindley Jr. Roanoke
Duncan Morris Sr. Hampden-Sydney
Sam Mayer Sr. Randolph-Macon
Joe Perrella Sr. Washington and Lee
Chandler Shaheen Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Long Stick
Jake Truman So. Bridgewater
Jared Arntzen Sr. Hampden-Sydney
Short Stick
Nick Willertz So. Lynchburg
Will Forrestal Jr. Guilford
Kyle Geblein Jr. Randolph-Macon
Robby Moore Jr. Roanoke
Triston Stegall Sr. Hampden-Sydney
Ian Davies So. Roanoke
All-ODAC Third Team
Sam Dardani Jr. Washington and Lee
Tilghman Sanders Sr. Shenandoah
Andrew Thomas So. Lynchburg
Chris Voorhees Sr. Bridgewater
Harrison Brennan Sr. Lynchburg
Cameron Linsley Sr. Roanoke
Daniel Owens Sr. Lynchburg
Long Stick
Tim Aldinger So. Roanoke
Reid Kaminski Jr. Roanoke
Short Stick
Bucky Potter Sr. Hampden-Sydney
John Broderick So. Washington and Lee
Tyler Gallagher Fr. Lynchburg
Chris Hamilton Sr. Lynchburg
Spencer Matthews Sr. Randolph
Parker Styles Jr. Guilford
Ray Rostan Men's Lacrosse Sportsmanship Team
Nick Strider Sr. Bridgewater
David Felipe Sr. Guilford
Wilson Booth Jr. Hampden-Sydney
Peter Kaye Sr. Lynchburg
Spencer Matthews Sr. Randolph
Brian Davies Sr. Randolph-Macon
Joe King Sr. Roanoke
Stephen LaTona Sr. Shenandoah
Cory Hilliard Sr. Virginia Wesleyan
Jonathan Henry Sr. Washington and Lee