Men's lacrosse lands 10 on All-ODAC squads

Collage of action photos of the 10 All-ODAC Lynchburg men's lacrosse players. Logos: ODAC, Lynchburg Hornet. Text: All-Conference.

Forest, Va. -- For the fourth time in program history, the Lynchburg College men's lacrosse team placed a double-digit number of players on the All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference teams, the league announced Thursday with its presentation of conference-wide awards.

Ten Hornets earned all-league accolades, and head coach Steve Koudelka earned the ODAC Coach of the Year award for the fifth time in his 22-year tenure.

Five Lynchburg players -- junior attackman Evan Lombardo (Franklin Park, N.J.), senior midfielder Colin McGuire (Odenton, Md.), junior long-stick midfielder Seamus McDonald (Far Hills, N.J.), junior midfielder Nick Willertz (Severn, Md.), and junior defender Matt Meadows (Lynchburg, Va.) -- took first-team honors.

Sophomore midfielder Kevin Rogers (Leesburg, Va.) was named to the second team, and junior attackman Logan Adams (Grosse Pointe, Mich.), junior face-off man Craig Koester (Wildwood, Mo.), sophomore defender Tyler Gallagher (Palmyra, Pa.), and senior goalie CJ Santora (Tewksbury, Mass.) earned third-team accolades.

Lombardo, now a two-time all-conference performer, led the team and the league with 66 goals. He also made 12 assists and 21 ground balls.

McGuire came up big at the end of the season with 18 of his 36 goals in the final five games of the year. The senior was fourth on the team in goals, and his 32 assists were second among Hornets.

McDonald earned his second All-ODAC accolade with 51 ground balls and 13 caused turnovers in his junior season. He also scored four goals and dished out four assists.

Willertz led the team in caused turnovers (15), also tallying four goals, four assists, and 44 ground balls to garner his second all-conference award.

Meadows piled up 32 ground balls and 14 caused turnovers.

Rogers, LC's lone second-teamer, was tied for second on the team in goals (37) and third in assists (15). He netted a career-best five goals in the team's NCAA tournament loss at Dickinson Wednesday.

Adams was the team's top assist-maker with 35, and he also chipped in 21 goals and 24 ground balls.

Koester won 121 of the 200 face-offs he took and was second on the team with 66 ground balls. He scored two goals and two assists.

Gallagher caused 12 turnovers and scooped 12 ground balls to earn a repeat third-team honor.

Santora earned his first All-ODAC honor, finishing second on the league with 200 saves. His 53.2 save percentage ranked fifth in the conference.

Washington and Lee's A.J. Witherell earned the league's player of the year honor, and Roanoke's Garritt Schwarz was tabbed the league's top rookie. Bridgewater's Blake Mann earned the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete award.

The ten honorees is the most for Lynchburg since the 2015 season, when Lynchburg reached the NCAA Division III national championship game. The five first-teamers is also the most for the Hornets since that year.

The Hornets finished the season with a 12-9 record, won the ODAC championship, and reached the NCAA tournament for the seventh-straight season.



ODAC Player of the Year: A.J. Witherell, Jr., A, Washington and Lee University
ODAC Coach of the Year: Steve Koudelka, Lynchburg College
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Garritt Schwarz, Fr., A, Roanoke College
ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Blake Mann, Sr., A, Bridgewater College 

Ian Levin Attack Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Evan Lombardo Attack Jr. Lynchburg College
Jason Sarro Attack So. Roanoke College
A.J. Witherell Attack Jr. Washington and Lee University
Hunter Brown Midfield Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Hudson Hamill Midfield So. Washington and Lee University
Colin McGuire Midfield Sr. Lynchburg College
IV Stucker Midfield Sr. Roanoke College
Seamus McDonald Long-Stick Jr. Lynchburg College
Nick Willertz Short-Stick Jr. Lynchburg College
Jack Hodgson Face-Off So. Washington and Lee University
Conn Curry Defense Sr. Roanoke College
Kyle Gifford Defense Sr. Washington and Lee University
Kent Henry Defense Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Matt Meadows Defense Jr. Lynchburg College
Ian Davies Goalkeeper Jr. Roanoke College
Aswan Bland Attack Sr. Guilford College
Sam Dardani Attack Sr. Washington and Lee University
Blake Mann Attack Sr. Bridgewater College
Garritt Schwarz Attack Fr. Roanoke College
Michael Brooks Midfield Jr. Shenandoah University
Kyle Keepers Midfield Sr. Randolph-Macon College
Kevin Rogers Midfield So. Lynchburg College
Chandler Shaheen Midfield Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Tim Aldinger Long-Stick Jr. Roanoke College
Jed Londrey Short-Stick So. Washington and Lee University
Wilson Booth Face-Off Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
John Broderick Defense Jr. Washington and Lee University
Will Forrestal Defense Sr. Guilford College
Kyle Geblein Defense Sr. Randolph-Macon College
Robby Moore Defense Sr. Roanoke College
Mitch Renfrow Goalkeeper Jr. Hampden-Sydney College
Logan Adams Attack Jr. Lynchburg College
Connor Pool Attack Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Ryan Schott Attack Jr. Shenandoah University
Ryan Tiffey Attack So. Randolph-Macon College
John Burke Midfield Jr. Hampden-Sydney College
Prince Charles Midfield Jr. Randolph College
Brendan Devane Midfield Jr. Roanoke College
Jones Veith Midfield Sr. Washington and Lee University
Drew Barnard Long-Stick Jr. Washington and Lee University
Tyee Buttrey Short-Stick Sr. Randolph-Macon College
Craig Koester Face-Off Jr. Lynchburg College
Tyler Gallagher Defense So. Lynchburg College
Joey Russell Defense Sr. Roanoke College
Marshall Via Defense Sr. Hampden-Sydney College
Canevin Wallace Defense Fr. Hampden-Sydney College
CJ Santora Goalkeeper Sr. Lynchburg College