Berning and Flores Earn All-State Men’s Soccer First-Team Honors

Berning and Flores Earn All-State Men’s Soccer First-Team Honors

For immediate release – 12/18/2015 - #221
Flores and Berning Earn All-State Men's Soccer First-Team Honors

BRIDGEWATER, VA – Lynchburg College sophomores Nate Berning and Fredy Flores were named to the 2015 Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) College Division All-State Men's Soccer first team on Friday.

Washington and Lee University midfielder Ben Bayles was named Player of the Year and the Generals' Mike Singleton took Coach of the Year honors. Virginia Wesleyan College forward Ricky Perrault was named the state's Rookie of the Year.

A total of 12 different programs were represented on this year's team. Christopher Newport University led the selection with five all-state players, including four first-team picks.

Berning was a vital part of a backline that was one of the best in the ODAC. He was a leader of the defense that allowed just 13 goals all season - the fewest in the conference - and was a part of a school-tying record 10 shutouts.

Flores earned first-team All-ODAC and second-team All-South Atlantic Region honors earlier this off-season. He led the Hornets and was tied for fourth in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) with seven goals. The forward's 18 points was also good for fourth among the conference leaders and he tied for eighth with four assists.

The Hornets finished the 2015 campaign with a 10-4-4 overall record and 6-2-3 in conference play.


Player of the Year             Ben Bayles, Washington and Lee University
Coach of the Year              Mike Singleton, Washington and Lee University
Rookie of the Year             Rick Perrault, Virginia Wesleyan College.

All-State First Team

Patrick Burns, Christopher Newport University
Troy Jurney, Randolph College
Freddy Flores, Lynchburg College

Ben Bayles, Washington and Lee University
Blake Heatherly, Randolph College
Harry Nodwell, Christopher Newport University

Sean Christein, Christopher Newport University
Patrick Barry, Washington and Lee University
Cristian Irigoyen, Randolph College
Dio Beck, Roanoke College
Nate Berning, Lynchburg College
Rodney Ngoh, Marymount University

Nolan Mann, Christopher Newport University

All-State Second Team

Rob Lentine, Roanoke College
Juan Luna, Eastern Mennonite University
Ricky Perrault, Virginia Wesleyan College
Jordan Couch, Emory & Henry College

Mike Bennett, University of Mary Washington
Tyler Carbaugh, Roanoke College
Logan McHugh, Randolph-Macon College

Kevin Gidari, Bridgewater College
Jack Maxey, Randolph-Macon College
Bobby Seifert, Christopher Newport University

Matt Spencer, University of Mary Washington