LC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Captures 15th-Straight ODAC Title

LC Men’s Indoor Track & Field Captures 15th-Straight ODAC Title

For immediate release - 2/24/2012 - #249
LC Men's Indoor Track & Field Captures 15th-Straight ODAC Title 

Complete Results 

LYNCHBURG, VA – History repeated itself on Friday as the Lynchburg College men's indoor track and field team captured its 15th-straight Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) title at Liberty University. LC has won the ODAC Championship for men's indoor track and field in 22 out of the last 23 years, dating back to 1990.

Freshman Jared Bloomquist earned the Men's Rookie of the Year award while head mentor Doug Thomasey was named the ODAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive time. Zander Tallman of Washington & Lee University took home the Men's Athlete of the Meet award.

Lynchburg scored 141 points overall, outpacing Washington & Lee who came in second with 78 points and Bridgewater College who finished third, tallying 58 points.

Senior Reid Taylor finished second in the 800m race with a time of 1:58.9. Junior Nolan Compton took first in the one-mile run, crossing the finish line at 4:24.50 while sophomore Cody Stanton took second in the 5000m race with a mark of 15:28.8.

In the 60m hurdles, sophomore Rachad Davis placed first, registering a time of 8.41 seconds. Bloomquist took first in the high jump with a height of two meters. Lynchburg went 1-2-3 in the pole vault with senior James Bell finishing first with senior Nathan Curtis and sophomore Eric O'Connor finishing in order behind him. Freshman Zachary Kezar ended up first in the long jump with a leap of 21'7.50". 

LC throwers once again had a successful meet on Friday. In the shot put, junior Eric Van Dunk finished first (50'00.75"), sophomore Greg Wilson placed second (48'08.25") and senior Ralph Davis (46'06.25") followed them up in third place.

Davis took home first in the weight throw with a mark of 54'8". Wilson finished second with a throw of 51'05.50" and junior Gordon Merck placed third for LC, registering a throw of 48'08.25".

Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year:

Darren Driscol – VWC

Men's Rookie of the Year:
Jared Bloomquist - LC

Men's Athlete of the Meet:
Zander Tallman – W&L

Men's Coach of the Year:
Doug Thomasey – LC

LC Track Competes at LU Quad
February 10, 2012 LC Track Competes at LU Quad