Lynchburg Tops ODAC Men's Indoor Track Poll

Lynchburg Tops ODAC Men's Indoor Track Poll

Bridgewater in Second, Washington and Lee Receives First Place Vote

Story Courtesy of the ODAC Office

FOREST, Va. --- Lynchburg College earned seven first place votes on the way to 49 total points for the second straight year as the Hornets top the 2012-13 ODAC Men's Indoor Track Coaches' Poll.  Bridgewater College chimes in second with 41 tallies, while Washington and Lee University picked up the remaining top nod towards 38 total poll points.

Lynchburg, winner of 15 straight and 26 overall ODAC indoor championships, returns several key components to the squad coached by two-time reigning ODAC Coach of the Year, Doug Thomasey.  Five winners from the 2012 ODAC Indoor Track Championships are back in LC red, including ODAC Rookie of the Year, Jared Bloomquist, who won the high jump (2.00m) last season.  Rachad Davis took home top prize in the 60-meter hurdles (8.41) while also placing fourth in the 60-meter dash (7.10).  Nolan Compton turned in a winning performance in the mile run (4:24.50), while Zachary Kezar claimed first in the long jump (5.59m).  The Hornets are armed with a trio of strong throwers led by shot put champion Eric Van Dunk (15.26m).  Greg Wilson took second in both the shot (14.84m) and weight throw (15.68m), and Gordon Merck was third in the weight throw (14.84m).  Distance runner Cody Stanton returns after placing second in the 5,000-meter race (15:28.08) and winning the 2012 ODAC cross country eight-kilometer race this past fall.

Bridgewater also fields a squad heavy on returning talent, led by triple jump champ Eugene Cummings (13.92m).  He also placed second in the long jump (6.47m).  Daryus Beale is back in the fold after finishing second in the 60-meter hurdles (8.50), while Ryan Speray is ready for another go at the mile run competition after placing third (4:27.34) last season.  Luke Sohl, the 2011 ODAC Cross Country Rookie of the Year, finished fourth in the 5,000-meter run last season (15:32.90).  Jacob Wright showed fifth in the 60-meter dash (7.11).

Washington and Lee welcomes the return of 2012 ODAC Athlete of the Meet, Zander Tallman.  Tallman won both the 200-meter (22.40) and 400-meter dashes (49.55).  He went on to compete in the 400-dash at the NCAA Division III Indoor Track Championships, where he posted a time of 49.82.  Joining Tallman is versatile athlete Dillon Myers, who competed in six individual events at last year's championships.  He finished second in both the 400-meter dash (51.46) and triple jump (13.06m), third in the high jump (1.82m) and long jump (6.33m), and fifth in the 60-meter hurdles (8.88) and 200-meter dash (23.25).  Kane Thomas is back after placing third in the 800-meter run (1:58.72), as is David Fishman following a tie for fourth in the pole vault (3.90).

For the second straight year, the 5,000-meter run will be one of the most competitive events at the ODAC championships come February.  Five of the six point scorers return from last season's tight competition.  In addition to LC's Stanton and BC's Sohl, Chad Norton (15:21.04) from Guilford College looks for a repeat performance after winning the event in 2012.  He's joined by Roanoke College's Tim Smith (15:36.87), who won the 2011 ODAC cross country individual race, and Darren Driscoll (15:38.94) from Virginia Wesleyan College.

Roanoke claimed first in the 4x400-meter relay (3:28.82) a season ago.  The Maroons enjoy the return of Jed Curtis, who finished second in the high jump (1.85m) and third in the 60-meter hurdles (8.61) last year.

The Marlins, who won the distance medley relay race (10:34.09), feature three returning athletes to watch.  Randy Lott took home second prize in the 60-meter dash (6.94) and finished third in the 200-meter dash (22.74).  Tracey Johnson came in right behind Lott in the 60-dash (7.06) in third place.  Pole vaulter Kyle Chowhan tied for fourth (3.90m) in last season's competition.

Eastern Mennonite University features the return of one of the conference's top athletes following a year away from the sport on a study-abroad opportunity.  Michael Allen won the long jump (6.59m) and triple jump (13.91m) at the 2011 championships.  He also placed second in the high jump (1.83m).

Shenandoah University embarks on its second year in the conference.  Kirk Lewis returns for the Hornets after placing sixth in the 200-meter (23.39) and 400-meter (52.38) dashes.

Listed below is the full 2012-13 ODAC Men's Track Coaches Poll.  For more information, visit any of the participating schools' websites, or go to the ODAC's home on the Internet at  Don't forget to become a fan of the ODAC on Facebook and follow the ODAC on Twitter at @odacathletics.  In addition, check out the ODAC's YouTube channel.

(#) Denotes first place votes

1. Lynchburg (7)

49 pts.

2. Bridgewater

41 pts.

3. Washington and Lee (1)

38 pts.

4. Roanoke

30 pts.

5. Virginia Wesleyan

23 pts.

6. Eastern Mennonite

15 pts.

7. Guilford

14 pts.

7. Shenandoah

14 pts.