Track and Field Teams Square Off Against Division I Schools

Track and Field Teams Square Off Against Division I Schools

For Immediate Release – 2/8/13 #235
Track and Field Teams Square Off Against Division I Schools

LYNCHBURG, VA – With a few members of the Lynchburg College men's and women's track and field teams competing in New York, the majority of the teams headed across town for the Liberty Quad meet, held on Liberty University's campus at the Tolsma Indoor Track Center.  The meet featured several Division I schools, but the Hornets were not deterred and earned several career or season records.

On the men's side of the action, Tristan Boysaw set a new PR in the high jump, reaching a mark of 6'4.25".  Boysaw added another personal best in the 400 meter race.  He finished third in a time of 51.15, beating 17 Division I runners in the process.  In other running events, Andrew Osbourne posted a ninth-place finish in his first ever 5000 meter run.  Two Hornets set career bests in the 60 meter dash, as Zachary Kezar (7.24) and Curtis Whitlow (7.59) took fifth and eighth place respectively.

For the throwers, Eric Van Dunk had his best performance of the year in the shot put.  The defending ODAC champion in that event registered a toss of 46'7.25".  Spencer Latham took the third spot in the weight throw, heaving it 50'0.75".

For the women, Aleshia Washington recorded a season best time in the 200 meter race with a time of 27.18.  Washington also finished ninth in the long jump, leaping 16'3.25".  Katie Miller also set a PR in the 60 meter hurdles with a time of 9.74.  To add to those two runners, Miriam Oweis had her best time in the 1 mile race, coming in at 5:59.22

In the throwing events, Kim Alfaro set a new career best in weight throw, with a distance of 39'5".  Emily Davis had her best throw of the season in the same event, coming in at 42'7.5".

With Friday over, the Hornets will be back in action next Wednesday.  Lynchburg will host the LC Sprint, Jumps, Throws Challenge Part II at Wake Field House.  Events will begin at 5 p.m.