Powell, Tenney and Ingram Honored on All-State Softball Team

Danielle Powell
Danielle Powell

For immediate release – 6/11/2014 - #384
Powell, Tenney and Ingram Honored on All-State Softball Team

LYNCHBURG, VA – Three Lynchburg College student-athletes were honored Wednesday with the release of the 2014 Virginia Sports Information Directors Association All-State College Division Softball Team.

Sophomore Danielle Powell and senior Melanie Tenney earned spots on the all-state first-team.

Powell, a 2014 All-Atlantic Region Third Team honoree, ranked second in the Old Dominion Athletic Conference in RBI and fifth in hits. She led the team with 58 hits and boasted a .384 batting average. Powell split time between third based and right field this season. She scored 32 runs and was second on the team with eight doubles and six homeruns.

Tenney, the 2014 ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year, hit .406 this spring with a .500 on-base percentage and a .633 slugging mark. She ranked sixth in the ODAC in on-base percentage, eighth in batting average, 10th in slugging, third in runs and tied for seventh in home runs. The second baseman also took home 2014 All-Atlantic Region First-Team accolades this off-season.

Ingram earned the second-team designated player/utility player spot on the all-state team. She was also honored on the All-ODAC second-team and the All-Atlantic Region third team. She split time between right field and pitcher, posting a 2.95 ERA with a 16-5 record and 99 strikeouts in 125.2 innings. Ingram ranked third in the conference in both wins and strikeouts. At the plate, she was third in the ODAC with nine homeruns.

Virginia Wesleyan College's Tori Higginbotham and Kristina Karagiorgis were named the Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year, respectively. Hunter Glavé of Randolph College and Jessica Long of Averett University were named as Co-Rookies of the Year. Keith Parr of Christopher Newport University was named as the Coach of the Year.


Major Award Winners

Player of the Year: Tori Higginbotham, Virginia Wesleyan College

Pitcher of the Year: Kristina Karagiorgis, Virginia Wesleyan College

Coach of the Year: Keith Parr, Christopher Newport University  

Co-Rookie of the Year: Hunter Glavé, Randolph College

Co-Rookie of the Year: Jessica Long, Averett University


All-State First Team

P: Kristina Karagiorgis, Virginia Wesleyan College

P: Taylor Brandts, University of Virginia-Wise

P: MacKenzie Creech, Virginia Wesleyan College

P: Krista Lewis, Christopher Newport University               

C: Taylor Galvin, Virginia Wesleyan College

C: Kelsey Lewis, Christopher Newport University

1B: Sabrina Hill, Christopher Newport University

2B: Melanie Tenney, Lynchburg College

3B: Danielle Powell, Lynchburg College

3B: Kayla Dost, Virginia Wesleyan College

SS: Sharese Jarvis, Randolph-Macon College

OF: Tori Higginbotham, Virginia Wesleyan College

OF: Christine Simon, Randolph-Macon College

OF: Meagan Jones, Christopher Newport University

DP/UTIL: Jessica Long, Averett University


All-State Second Team

P: Makayla Jenkins, Christopher Newport University

P: Logan Carter, Randolph College

P: Kelsey McLaughlin, Randolph-Macon College

C: Meredith Rudisill, Averett University

1B: Hunter Glavé, Randolph College

2B: Sam Moore , Randolph-Macon College

3B: Jessye Crews, Averett University

SS: Candice Zollars, Christopher Newport University

OF: Kristina McLaughlin, Christopher Newport University

OF: Aislinn Lucas, Eastern Mennonite University

OF: Christina Ziemba, University of Virginia-Wise

DP/UTIL: Amber Ingram, Lynchburg College