Four Hornets Selected to 2012 All-State Women’s Lacrosse Team

Four Hornets Selected to 2012 All-State Women’s Lacrosse Team

For immediate release – 6/6/2012 - #422
Four Hornets Selected to 2012 All-State Women's Lacrosse Team

Four Lynchburg College players were selected Wednesday to the 2012 All-State College Division Women's Lacrosse Team, including two first-teamers.

Senior attack Lesley Buckingham earned first-team accolades after breaking the school career records for points (262) and goals (200) during the year, and also set the single-season top marks in these two categories, with 96 points and 69 goals. She ranked 31st in NCAA Division III points and 32nd in points-per game.

Sophomore Brianna Lamarca joined Buckingham on the first team. She helped anchor a defense that allowed just over 10 goals a game. She was third on the team with 29 ground balls and tied for the team lead with 23 caused turnovers and added seven draw controls.

Juniors Julie Will and Kendall Adkin earned spots on the second team.  Will, a midfielder, finished the season with 31 goals, ranking her fourth on the team, and added eight assists. She led LC with 40 ground balls and 49 draw controls and also caused 15 turnovers.   Adkin, a second-team All-ODAC honoree and a member of the 2012 ODAC All-Tournament Team, was second on the team in goals (65) and assists (16).

Catherine Kennedy, a midfielder from the University of Mary Washington, was voted the Player of the Year, as voted on by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID).  Kennedy's coach, Dana Hall, was named the All-State Coach of the Year and Darragh Evarts from Roanoke College earned Rookie of the Year honors.



2012 All-State Women's Lacrosse College Division All-State Team


Player of the Year: Catherine Kennedy, University of Mary Washington

Rookie of the Year: Darragh Evarts, Roanoke College

Coach of the Year: Dana Hall, University of Mary Washington




Allison Bonanno, Roanoke College

Lesley Buckingham, Lynchburg College

Allie Kimmelman, Mary Washington

Ashton Marshall, Christopher Newport University


Christina Benedetti, Washington & Lee University

Catherine Kennedy, Mary Washington

Samantha Sisson, Shenandoah University


Elizabeth Hartge, Roanoke

Brianna LaMarca, Lynchburg

Katie Mastropaolo, Mary Washington

Leanne Stone, Washington & Lee


Ashley Cross, Shenandoah




Kendall Adkin, Lynchburg

Brooke Hewartson, Ferrum College

Alli Shearin, Washington & Lee


Darragh Evarts, Roanoke

Lauren King, Christopher Newport

Kathleen Wager, Roanoke

Julie Will, Lynchburg


Jenny Atmar, Mary Washington

Monica Evans, Christopher Newport

Chanci Wright, Hollins University


Caroline Baker, Sweet Briar

Cara Mulligan, Washington & Lee