Francis Named ODAC Rookie of the Year, Three Hornets on First Team

Francis Named ODAC Rookie of the Year, Three Hornets on First Team

For immediate release – 5/7/2013 - #397
Francis Named ODAC Rookie of the Year, Three Hornets on First Team

FOREST, VA – The Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) released the 2013 all-conference women's lacrosse team today and senior Kendall Adkin, freshman Katherine Francis, and junior Brianna LaMarca were named to the first team. Junior Bri Slate made the second team and senior Julie Will was a third team selection.

Francis made a huge impact for the Hornets in her first year to win ODAC Rookie of the Year. Her 43 goals and four game-winners led the team, as did her 56 draw controls and 26 caused turnovers. She tied for the team lead with 49 points while finishing second with 30 groundballs.

Adkin, the lone Hornet senior on the first team, tied Francis for the team lead with 49 points, while leading Lynchburg with 11 assists from her attack position. LaMarca was the only member of the Lynchburg defense honored as she scooped up 29 groundballs and had 20 caused turnovers on the season to disrupt opposing offenses.

Slate was the lone member of the LC team to receive second team honors. The junior's 39 goals were second-most on the team, including one game-winner. She added 13 groundballs and 15 draw controls on the season.

Will rounds out the Lynchburg selections as a third team midfielder. She did a little of everything for the Hornets, scoring 18 goals while forcing 15 caused turnovers. Will added a team-high 31 groundballs and 42 draw controls.

Lynchburg finished its season with a record of 9-8/6-4 ODAC while making it to the conference quarterfinals.



ODAC Player of the Year: E'leyna Garcia, Guilford
ODAC Coach of the Year: Brooke O'Brien, Washington and Lee
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Katherine Francis, Lynchburg College
ODAC/Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Rachel Johnsen, Randolph-Macon

Kendall Adkin, Sr., Lynchburg
Allison Bonanno, Jr., Roanoke
Lily Colley, Jr., Guilford
E'leyna Garcia, Jr., Guilford

Barragh Evarts, So., Roanoke
Katherine Francis, Fr., Lynchburg
Eleanora Keene, So., Guilford
Samantha Sisson, So., Shenandoah

Amari Agee, So., Virginia Wesleyan
Summer Fowler, Fr., Guilford
Brianna LaMarca, Jr., Lynchburg
Leanne Stone, Jr., Washington and Lee

Liza Mettler, Sr., Guilford


Taylor Chamberlain, Jr., Bridgewater
Jamie Golden, Sr., Roanoke
Katie Hagen, Jr., Washington and Lee
Bri Slate, Jr., Lynchburg

Liz Bereit, So., Shenandoah
Meade Brewster, Jr., Washington and Lee
Emily Lynch, Sr., Randolph-Macon
Kathleen Wager, Sr., Roanoke

Caroline Augsberger, So., Bridgewater
Erin Oliver, Jr., Shenandoah
Stephanie Vogel, Sr., Roanoke
Olive Waxter, Jr., Washington and Lee

Ashley Cross, Jr., Shenandoah


Betsy Hebert, So., Randolph-Macon
Rosie Knisley, Sr., Roanoke
Amy Rollins, Sr., Shenandoah
Katie Russo, Fr., Randolph-Macon
Nikki Salyers, Sr., Virginia Wesleyan

Carli Bafford, Fr., Bridgewater
Becca Colley, Jr., Guilford
Corrinne Kosmowski, Sr., Shenandoah
Julie Will, Sr., Lynchburg

Maggie Benson, Sr., Randolph-Macon
Celine De Perlinghi, Jr., Guilford
Katie Gehrdes, Fr., Roanoke
Ashley Stevens, Sr., Randolph

Caroline Baker, So., Sweet Briar