Two women's lacrosse players earn All-State laurels

Photos of Dorrie MacGregor and Rachel Henderson playing lacrosse. Text: VaSID All-State. Hornet logo.

Arlington, Va. -- Two Lynchburg College women's lacrosse players were named to the Virginia Sports Information Directors' College Division All-State teams, the organization announced Monday with its annual awards.

Senior midfielder Dorrie MacGregor (Centreville, Md.) took a spot on the first team, while senior defender Rachel Henderson (Perry Hall, Md.) was voted onto the second team.

MacGregor and Henderson, both first-time honorees on the All-State squads, helped Lynchburg to a 9-8 record and a trip to the Old Dominion Athletic Conference tournament semifinals.

The All-State honor is another addition to a long list for the pair in 2018. Both were first-team All-ODAC selections as well as representing the Hornets on the ODAC All-Tournament Team. MacGregor was a first-team All-Chesapeake Region pick and the ODAC/Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete of the Year. She was also a Google Cloud Academic All-District selection, as voted by the College Sports Information Directors of America. She set both the program's single-season and career draw controls records in her senior campaign and also added 34 goals, six assists, and 35 ground balls.

Henderson led the team in most defensive categories, grabbing 49 ground balls and causing 29 turnovers. She ranks third in program history with 71 caused turnovers.

Mary Washington senior Kirsten Littlefield took the player of the year honor, while Eagles' coach Caitlin Moore was named coach of the year. Shenandoah's Alyson Bittinger was tabbed the state rookie of the year.


2018 VaSID Women's Lacrosse College All-State

Player of the Year: Kirsten Littlefield, University of Mary Washington

Rookie of the Year: Alyson Bittinger, Shenandoah University

Coach of the Year: Caitlin Moore, University of Mary Washington


First Team:

Attack: Jess Castelo, Washington & Lee University

Attack: Sarah Culver, Christopher Newport University

Attack: Elizabeth Peasley, Averett University

Midfielder: Colleen Bourgal, Christopher Newport University

Midfielder: Julia Golden, Christopher Newport University

Midfielder: Alicia Hsieh, Randolph-Macon College

Midfielder: Dorrie MacGregor, Lynchburg College

Defender: Emma Boris, Roanoke College

Defender: Riley Garcia, Washington & Lee University

Defender: Kirsten Littlefield, University of Mary Washington

Goalkeeper: Elicia Wells, Randolph-Macon College


Second Team:

Attack: Julia Albert, University of Mary Washington

Attack: Mackenzie Maguire, University of Mary Washington

Attack: Cordelia Peters, Washington & Lee University

Midfielder: Kristin Gobbi, University of Virginia-Wise

Midfielder: Dani Murray, Washington & Lee University

Midfielder: Alixis Roccia, Averett University

Defender: Sarah Alvanos, Randolph-Macon College

Defender: Jess Apgar, University of Virginia-Wise

Defender: Rachel Henderson, Lynchburg College

Defender: Kayla O'Sullivan, Bridgewater College

Goalkeeper: Melanie Reilly, University of Virginia-Wise