LC Women’s Soccer Garners Two Major Awards, Five All-State Accolades

LC Women’s Soccer Garners Two Major Awards, Five All-State Accolades

For immediate release – 12/21/12 -- #200

LC Women's Soccer Garners Two Major Awards, Five All-State Accolades

NEWPORT NEWS, VA—The Lynchburg College women's soccer team garnered the major all-state awards as well as five all-state selections when the teams were released on Thursday.

Lynchburg head coach Dr. Todd Olsen was named VaSID College Division Coach of the Year for the fifth straight season after leading the Hornets to 21 wins, tying for most in school history. This is his sixth Coach of the Year award for Dr. Olsen. His leadership saw the Hornets win the Old Dominion Athletic Conference championship for the third straight year, as well as advancing to the third round of the NCAA Tournament.

Junior defender Rachel Sadowski was named VaSID College Division Player of the Year. This continues a strong award season for Sadowski who was named First Team All-American by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America.  She also picked up First Team All-ODAC and All-South Region honors after anchoring one of the strongest defenses in the nation. She added CoSIDA Academic All-America and NSCAA Scholar All-American honors to her on-field résumé.

Junior Angela Bosco and sophomore Dessi Dupuy are LC's forward representatives on the first team. Bosco led the ODAC in points with 61 and assists with 17. The Second Team All-ODAC and Third Team All-South Region selection was second in the conference with 22 goals.

Dupuy led the conference with 27 goals. Her strong campaign saw her named Second Team All-American by, Second Team All-South Region, and First Team All-ODAC.

Shelley Hoath made the first team as a midfielder. The senior contributed six goals, three for game-winners as well as a career-high five assists. Hoath was also First Team All-ODAC and All-South Region.

Audrey Moore rounds out the first team as the goalkeeper. The senior helped lead the Hornets to a 0.72 shutout percentage, fourth best in all of Division III. The goals against average of 0.423 was ninth best in the country. Moore has already garnered Second Team All-ODAC and First Team All-Region honors.

First Team
D - Rachel Sadowski, Jr., Lynchburg
D - Elizabeth Stump, So., Bridgewater
D - Taylor DeVoe, So., Washington and Lee
M - Dani Gunderson, Sr., Christopher Newport
M - Shelley Hoath, Sr., Lynchburg
M - Sandra Johansson, Jr., Averett
F - Angela Bosco, Jr., Lynchburg
F - Dessi Dupuy, So., Lynchburg
F - Jessica Edelman, Sr., Virginia Wesleyan
G - Audrey Moore, Sr., Lynchburg
AL - Emma O'Reilly, Jr., Christopher Newport

Second Team
D - Emma Olsson, So., Averett
D - Alexis Stahlman, Jr., Christopher Newport
D - Krista Witmer, Sr., Virginia Wesleyan
M - Cortney Pattison, So., Bluefield
M - Mathilda Hansson, So., Averett
M - Stephanie Parenteau, Sr., Roanoke
F - Pernilla Milton, Jr., Averett
F - Erin Hauser, Sr., Randolph-Macon
F - Lora Palmer, So., Southern Virginia
G - Erica Keil, Jr., Virginia Wesleyan
AL - Nicole Martinez, Jr., Virginia Wesleyan

VaSID Coach of the Year - Dr. Todd Olsen, Lynchburg
VaSID Player of the Year - Rachel Sadowski, Jr., D, Lynchburg
VaSID Rookie of the Year - Lora Palmer, So., F, Southern Virginia