Two women's tennis players named All-State

Christina Harris and Sarah Wyly hit tennis balls. Text: Vasid AllState

Fredericksburg, Va. -- The Virginia Sports Information Directors voted a pair of Lynchburg College players to their College Division All-State women's tennis teams, the organization announced Monday afternoon.

Sophomore Christina Harris (Falls Church, Va.) earned a first-team nod at singles, and Harris and junior Sarah Wyly (Leesburg, Va.) took second-team honors at doubles. The pair is the first Lynchburg duo voted onto the All-State teams in the awards' 13-year history. Harris became the Hornets' first-ever All-State honoree last year with her first-team honor.

Harris enjoyed arguably the finest season in program history. The sophomore set a single-season wins record with a 22-3 mark and went 17-1 in dual match play this spring, all at No. 1. She earned first-team All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference honors as a result and was named league player of the week four times.

Wyly and Harris teamed up midseason at No. 1 doubles for a 6-2 record, going 5-2 in league play. Their success translated to team success as Lynchburg tied the program record with 13 wins this season and reached the semifinals of the ODAC tournament for the first time ever.

Averett's Heidi Sarkkinen was voted the state's top player this season, while Washington and Lee standout Valerie Marshall took top rookie honors. The group voted Mary Washington coach Patrick Catullo coach of the year.


2018 VaSID Women's Tennis College Division All-State

2018 VaSID Player of the Year: Heidi Sarkkinen, Averett

2018 VaSID Rookie of the Year: Valerie Marshall, Washington and Lee

2018 VaSID Coach of the Year: Patrick Catullo, Mary Washington


First Team Singles

Michelle Fleenor, Washington and Lee

Christina Harris, Lynchburg

Valerie Marshall, Washington and Lee

Johanna Ranta-aho, Christopher Newport

Heidi Sarkkinen, Averett

Rachel Summers, Mary Washington


First Team Doubles

Kait Brogan/Ashley Barrow, Mary Washington

Caroline Mossburg/Rachel Summers, Mary Washington

Heidi Sarkkinen/Hannah Mattson, Averett


Second Team Singles

Kait Brogan, Mary Washington

Rachel Cooper, Mary Washington

Hannah Jabusch, Mary Washington

Keyu Jin, Randolph

Whitney Kiser, Bridgewater

Danielle Mirabella, Mary Washington

Ashley Schmitz, Randolph


Second Team Doubles

Kristen Dantzer/Gaby Tersigini, Randolph-Macon

Christina Harris/Sarah Wyly, Lynchburg

Olivia Uzer/Stephanie Yeager, Randolph-Macon​