LC Women Take Back ODAC Indoor Track & Field Crown

LC Women Take Back ODAC Indoor Track & Field Crown

For immediate release – 2/25/2011 - #239

Complete Results

LYNCHBURG, VA – The Lynchburg College women's track and field team got stronger as the day progressed Friday and ended as the 2010-11 Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) Indoor Track and Field Champions. The event was hosted by Lynchburg College at Liberty University's Tolsma Center and marked the ninth time LC won the title, but first since a three-peat in 2003, 2004 and 2005.

LC scored 161 team points, with Roanoke College in second (124), Washington & Lee University third (77) and Bridgewater College in fourth (64). RC had a slight lead early in the competition after the majority of the field events were recorded but the Hornets' strength on the track proved to be the difference.

Roanoke's Carmen Graves and Bridgewater's Olivia Mills were named the Co-Athletes of the Meet. Courtney Mebane from Virginia Wesleyan College was voted the Freshman of the Year, and the Hornets took home the other two awards; Ashley Allen as Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Doug Thomasey as Coach of the Year.

LC senior Jessica Gibbs won the long jump event, while LeCear Hubbard came in second, leaping distances of 17'10.25" and 17'04.75", respectively in a busy day for both Hornet student-athletes. Gibbs came in third in the high jump, clearing 5'01.75", while Hubbard recorded a distance of 35'08.75" in the triple jump to place second. Hubbard also finished second in the 55m dash in 7.40 and placed fifth in the 55-meter hurdles in 9.08. Candice Hairston ran the 55m in 7.85, finishing fourth and Gibbs scored in the 55-meter hurdles also, taking sixth.

The LC distance medley relay team of Kiley Trennepohl, Shawn Jackson, Ashley Saba and Molly Galloway won by over 11 seconds in 13:13.27. Christina Washington won the 400-meter dash in 59.57 while Gibbs was third in 1:01.69. Washington finished second in the 200-meter dash with a run of 27.11, Jasmyne Johnson was right behind her in third, finishing at 27.30 and Hairston finished fifth at 27.91

Hornet senior Ashley Allen took second in the weight throw with a heave of 47'09.00" and was third in the shot put. Caitlin Walton was second in the pole vault (10'06").

Jennie Pernisi finished second in the mile in 5:22.52 and Krystal Foster placed third in 5:24.39. Pernisi finished fourth in the 800 meters in 2:26.33 and Pernisi, Galloway and Trennepohl took fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively in the 5,000.  LC closed out the night with a victory in the 4x400 relay, as the team of Gibbs, Johnson, Mel McFayden and Washington won in 4:27.12.


Co-Athletes of the Meet: Carmen Graves, Roanoke and Olivia Mills, Bridgewater

Coach of the Year: Doug Thomasey, Lynchburg

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ashley Allen, Lynchburg

Freshman of the Year: Courtney Mebane, Virginia Wesleyan

Hornet Track Travels to VMI
February 5, 2011 Hornet Track Travels to VMI