Baseball falls at Averett in midweek affair

Parker Shaffer in his batting stance. Graphic at bottom with 5-4 final score and team logos.

Danville, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's baseball team got two runners aboard in the top of the ninth but couldn't push the tying run across in a 5-4 non-conference defeat at Averett Tuesday afternoon.

Lynchburg scored in the sixth, seventh, and eighth innings to knot the score at 4-4 through 7 ½ innings, but Averett scored in the bottom of the eighth to retake the lead and held on for the victory.

Sophomore left fielder Parker Shaffer (Richmond, Va.) and sophomore first baseman Avery Combs (Lynchburg, Va.) each went 2-for-5 at the dish for Lynchburg, and freshman catcher Holden Fiedler (Henrico, Va.) scored two of Lynchburg's runs.

Freshman right-hander Brendan Houghtaling (Moseley, Va.) struck out three Cougars in two scoreless innings of relief in his collegiate debut.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: Averett 5, Lynchburg 4

Records: Averett 1-4, Lynchburg 1-2

Venue: Owen-Fulton Field, Averett University North Campus, Danville, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • Neither team was able to get on the board early as sophomore left-hander Adam Dofflemyer (Harrionsburg, Va.) and Houghtaling held Averett at bay through four innings. Lynchburg's offense managed just one hit in that time.

  • Averett broke through for two runs in the fifth on a sacrifice fly and a first-and-third pickoff play that turned into an inning-ending rundown.

  • The Hornets promptly tied the game at 2 in the top of the sixth thanks to an RBI double from freshman right fielder Kaden Warren (Berryville, Va.) a sacrifice fly off the bat of freshman shortstop Brian Sheeder (Sutherland, Va.).

  • The Cougars rallied for two more runs in the bottom half of the inning, but Lynchburg responded again in the seventh. Combs knocked an RBI infield single to cut the deficit to a single run.

  • Lynchburg threatened again in the eighth, and Shaffer came through with a two-out, RBI double in the right-center field gap that plated Fielder. Sheeder was thrown out at the plate trying to score from first, though, and the teams entered the bottom half tied, 4-4.

  • Averett loaded the bases in the bottom of the eighth and scored on a hit-by-pitch, but Lynchburg evaded the inning without further damage.

  • The Hornets threatened in the ninth with a one-out single from Combs followed by a walk from freshman third baseman Garrett Jackson (Virginia Beach, Va.), but a strikeout and flyout ended the ballgame.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg heads to Fayetteville, N.C., and Methodist University for the Armstrong/Diamond Invitational. The Hornets will take on Penn State-Behrend and Rutgers-Camden Saturday, Feb. 23 before a date the following day with the host Monarchs.

--LYN--

Baseball swept at Methodist
February 24, 2019 Baseball swept at Methodist
No Event
Tue Sep 17
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule