Baseball swept at Methodist

Baseball player waiting for a pitch

Fayetteville, N.C. -- University of Lynchburg's baseball team suffered a Sunday sweep at the hands of Methodist, dropping the doubleheader by scores of 14-2 and 4-2.

Freshman catcher Kaden Warren (Berryville, Va.) went 3-for-5 with a walk and a run scored on the day, while freshman center fielder Carrson Atkins (Charlottesville, Va.) ripped an RBI triple in the nightcap.

Methodist received votes in the latest D3baseball.com top 25 poll.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Methodist 14, Lynchburg 2

Game 2 Final: Methodist 4, Lynchburg 2

Records: Methodist 6-2, Lynchburg 1-4

Venue: Armstrong-Shelley Field, Methodist University, Fayetteville, N.C.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

  • Methodist got to Lynchburg pitching early and often, taking a 6-0 lead after the first two innings.

  • The Hornets fought back in the top of the third when freshman third baseman Garrett Jackson (Virginia Beach, Va.) doubled home freshman shortstop Brian Sheeder (Sutherland, Va.).

  • The Monarchs broke the game open with five runs in the bottom of the third and cruised to victory.

Game 2

  • Methodist took an early lead in the second contest as well with a run in the first, but Hornets freshman right-hander Brandon Pond (Chesterfield, Va.) settled into a rhythm. He went 5 ⅔ innings and struck out seven, allowing two earned runs in a no-decision.

  • Lynchburg's offense gave Pond some run support in the fifth, when Warren led the inning off with a single and came home on Atkins' triple. Sophomore left fielder Parker Shaffer (Richmond, Va.) brought Atkins in with an RBI infield single to give the Hornets a lead.

  • Methodist tied the game with a sacrifice fly in the sixth that chased Pond from the ballgame. The Monarchs took the lead on a bases-loaded walk in the seventh and added an insurance run in the eighth to steal the sweep.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will take the week off before debuting at home Saturday, March 2 with a noon doubleheader against Penn State-Harrisburg.

--LYN--

Baseball swept at Methodist
February 24, 2019 Baseball swept at Methodist
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 16
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. No. 19 Lynchburg
Wed Oct 16
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Fri Oct 18
5:30 p.m.
Bridgewater
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 18
5:30 p.m.
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
at VSGA Intercollegiate, James River CC, Newport News, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Oct 19
at Inter-Regional Rumble
Gloucester County DREAM Park, Logan Township, N.J.
Sat Oct 19
at Bridgewater IHSA
Sat Oct 19
2:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. No. 19 Lynchburg
Senior Day | Homecoming
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule