Baseball drops midweek ODAC game to Hampden-Sydney

Michael Reiskind pitching in a baseball game

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's baseball team erased a three-run deficit in the seventh inning but eventually fell, 11-6, at home Wednesday to Old Dominion Athletic Conference rival Hampden-Sydney.

After trailing from the first inning on, sophomore first baseman Avery Combs (Lynchburg, Va.) slapped a two-run single to tie the game, 6-6, for the Hornets in the bottom of the seventh. H-SC responded with a five-run eighth inning to put the game away.

Sophomore right-hander Michael Reiskind (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) pitched well in relief with 3 ⅔ scoreless innings.

H-SC second baseman Chase Counts had a four-RBI day at the plate.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: Hampden-Sydney 11, Lynchburg 6

Records: Hampden-Sydney (8-8-1, 2-3 ODAC), Lynchburg (7-11, 2-3 ODAC)

Venue: James C. Fox Field, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • The Tigers made use of two Hornet errors in the top of the first to jump out to a 4-0 lead and held a 6-1 advantage after two innings.

  • Lynchburg made a dent in the deficit in the fifth after graduate student designated hitter Kinston Carson (Tappahannock, Va.) delivered an RBI single, followed by a Tigers error on sophomore second baseman Parker Shaffer's (Richmond, Va.) grounder, cutting the H-SC lead to 6-3.

  • The Hornets evened the score at 6 in the seventh thanks to an RBI single from freshman left fielder Kaden Warren (Berryville, Va.), followed by Combs' two-run, opposite-field knock.

  • The lead didn't last long, however, as the Tigers made use of a leadoff walk and another Lynchburg fielding miscue to jump ahead, 11-6.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will return to non-conference action Friday, March 22 with a single game against Tufts. First pitch on Fox Field is set for 3 p.m.

--LYN--

Baseball swept at Methodist
February 24, 2019 Baseball swept at Methodist
No Event
Tue Sep 17
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule