Baseball splits with defending ODAC champ Shenandoah

Garrett Jackson in fielding position

Winchester, Va. -- The University of Lynchburg baseball team battled to an Old Dominion Athletic Conference doubleheader split at Shenandoah Saturday afternoon.

Lynchburg took the opener, 6-4, before falling, 3-2, to the defending ODAC champs in the nightcap.

Freshman third baseman Garrett Jackson (Virginia Beach, Va.) picked up four hits and four RBI on the day and tossed a shutout inning in relief in Game 1.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Lynchburg 6, Shenandoah 4

Game 2 Final: Shenandoah 3, Lynchburg 3

Records: Lynchburg (14-14, 7-6 ODAC), Shenandoah (14-8, 7-6 ODAC)

Venue: Bridgeforth Field, Winchester, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

  • Lynchburg took an early 1-0 lead on Jackson's first-inning RBI double, and the freshman expanded the visitors' lead with a two-run double in the third. Freshman catcher Holden Fiedler (Henrico, Va.) made it a 4-0 Lynchburg advantage in that inning, driving Jackson in with a single of his own.

  • SU cut the lead to 5-4 in the sixth, taking advantage of a fielding error, but the Hornets' bullpen held on. Jackson, sophomore right-hander Grayson Thurman (Lynch Station, Va.), and sophomore right-hander Santiago Meneses (Guatemala City, GUATEMALA) locked the game down with four combined shutout innings. Meneses earned his third save of the season, all of which have come in conference play.

  • Jackson gave Lynchburg an insurance run with his third RBI double of the game, which made it 6-4 in the seventh.

Game 2

  • Pitching dominated the early part of the nightcap. Lynchburg broke through in the fourth thanks to an RBI double by sophomore left fielder Parker Shaffer (Richmond, Va.). The visiting Hornets made it a 2-0 lead the following inning, when freshman second baseman PJ Alvanos (Annapolis, Md.) delivered an RBI single.

  • SU scratched across a run in the fifth and another, capitalizing on a Lynchburg error, in the sixth to tie the game.

  • Frankie Ritter drove in the go-ahead run in the seventh.

  • Junior right-hander Hunter Campbell (Lynchburg, Va.) took the tough-luck loss for Lynchburg. Campbell tossed a complete-game five-hitter, striking out six while allowing just two earned runs.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will return home for a mid-week ODAC clash, Tuesday, April 9, with the Marlins of Virginia Wesleyan. The game is scheduled for 3 p.m.

--LYN--

Baseball swept at Methodist
February 24, 2019 Baseball swept at Methodist
No Event
Tue Sep 17
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule