Baseball splits one-run ballgames with Bridgewater

Parker Shaffer dives into home plate

Lynchburg, Va. -- The University of Lynchburg baseball team played to an Old Dominion Athletic Conference split with visiting Bridgewater Saturday afternoon, winning the opener in walk-off fashion, 5-4, before dropping the nightcap by a 3-2 score.

Sophomore utility man Parker Shaffer (Richmond, Va.) had five hits and scored twice for Lynchburg on the day, while freshman third baseman Garrett Jackson (Virginia Beach, Va.) drove in three Lynchburg runs.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Lynchburg 5, Bridgewater 4

Game 2 Final: Bridgewater 3, Lynchburg 2

Records: Lynchburg (17-18, 10-9 ODAC), Bridgewater (13-22, 7-12 ODAC)

Venue: James C. Fox Field, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

  • Lynchburg drew first blood when freshman outfielder Kaden Warren (Berryville, Va.) scored a third-inning run on a wild pitch.

  • BC tied the game, 1-1, in the sixth and rallied in the eighth for two more runs. The Eagles scored their fourth run of the ballgame in the top of the ninth.

  • Lynchburg finally found life in the bottom of the ninth when freshman Brandon Pond (Chesterfield, Va.) led off the inning with a pinch-hit single. A pair of Eagles infield errors loaded the bases for Lynchburg, and Jackson delivered an RBI fielder's choice for the inning's first run.

  • Sophomore first baseman Avery Combs (Lynchburg, Va.) tied the ballgame at 4 with a two-run single down the left-field line, and the next batter, freshman catcher Holden Fiedler (Henrico, Va.) delivered an infield single that the BC defense couldn't handle, bringing Jackson around to score the winning run.

Game 2

  • The Hornets grabbed another early lead as freshman designated hitter Cameron Lane (Manassas, Va.) and Shaffer led off the game with back-to-back singles. Jackson's RBI single gave the Hornets a first-inning advantage.

  • BC got to Lynchburg junior right-hander Hunter Campbell (Lynchburg, Va.) for a run in the third and two more in the fourth. Lynchburg's offense cut the lead to 3-2 in the fifth on another RBI single from Jackson, but the bats couldn't get their ace any more support. Campbell took the tough-luck loss with eight innings pitched, two earned runs and six strikeouts.

  • Lynchburg rallied in the ninth, getting the tying run to third base and the winning run at first, but the home team couldn't bring them around.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets will continue ODAC play Tuesday, April 23 with a trip to No. 15 Randolph-Macon. First pitch in Ashland is scheduled for 3:30 p.m.

--LYN--

Baseball swept at Methodist
February 24, 2019 Baseball swept at Methodist
No Event
Tue Sep 17
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule