Baseball swept at Roanoke in ODAC finale

Kinston Carson taking a lead

Salem, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's baseball team suffered a pair of late-inning losses on the road Saturday to Roanoke, 6-5 and 10-7, the second in 11 innings.The Hornets wrapped up Old Dominion Athletic Conference regular-season play with an 11-11 record and will carry the No. 7 seed into the league tournament, setting up a first-round best-of-three series back at Roanoke next weekend.

Graduate student Kinston Carson (Tappahannock, Va.) reached base nine times and drove in three runs for the Hornets on the doubleheader. The southpaw earned a no-decision as the Game 1 starter on the mound as well.

Freshman third baseman Garrett Jackson (Virginia Beach, Va.) collected three hits and six RBI on the day, including a two-run home run in the nightcap.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Roanoke 6, Lynchburg 5

Game 2 Final: Roanoke 10, Lynchburg 7 (11 inn.)

Records: Lynchburg (18-20, 11-11 ODAC), Roanoke (19-16, 16-6 ODAC)

Venue: Kiwanis Field, Salem, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

  • Roanoke took an early 3-0 lead as Robbie Edwards slugged a three-run home run in the first inning.

  • With RC leading 4-0 after five innings, Lynchburg cut the lead to one run in the sixth after RBI knocks from Jackson, Carson, and freshman right fielder Kaden Warren (Berryville, Va.).

  • Jackson tied the game, 5-5, in the seventh with a two-run single.

  • Roanoke catcher PK Cocolis walked the Maroons off with a one-out RBI single in the ninth to steal the win.

Game 2

  • The Hornets took an early lead in the first inning when sophomore first baseman Avery Combs (Lynchburg, Va.) was hit by a pitch with the bases loaded, but Roanoke tied the ballgame in the bottom half.

  • Lynchburg took a 5-1 lead in the second, scoring on an RBI fielder's choice by freshman third baseman Brandon Pond (Chesterfield, Va.) and a three-run homer off Jackson's bat.

  • Carson delivered a two-run double in the next inning for a 7-1 lead, but Roanoke cut the lead with three runs in the bottom half.

  • Neither team scored again until the ninth, when the Maroons scored thrice. Sophomore right-hander Santiago Meneses (Guatemala City, GUATEMALA) came in for the final two outs of the inning, his second appearance of the afternoon, to send the game to extra innings.

  • Roanoke won the ballgame in the 11th when Cale Agee slugged a walk-off three-run home run.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets will wrap up the regular season Tuesday, April 30 with a non-conference bout with Greensboro College. First pitch is scheduled for 6 p.m.

--LYN--

Baseball swept at Methodist
February 24, 2019 Baseball swept at Methodist
Sat Nov 16
at NCAA Division III South/Southeast Regional Championships
Shelby Farms Park, Memphis, Tenn.
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
No. 16 Lynchburg
vs. No. 8 Rowan
@ Salisbury, Md. NCAA Tournament - Second Round
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
4:00 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
1:00 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
4:00 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
1:00 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule