Field hockey announces 2018 schedule

Field hockey players celebrate a goal in the ODAC championship game in 2017. Logo: Lynchburg field hockey.

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg and head field hockey coach Enza Steele are excited to begin a new era of field hockey at Lynchburg with the unveiling of the 2018 schedule.

Steele's 40th season at the helm again features one of the toughest schedules in the South Region with three games against NCAA Division III tournament teams and several more against regionally ranked squads.

The Hornets will make their season debut on the road at Lebanon Valley on Saturday, Sept. 1 at 1 p.m.

Two days later, Monday, Sept. 3, Lynchburg will take Shellenberger Field for the first time in 2018 against Frostburg State at 4 p.m.

The Hornets are proud to continue their partnership across town with Liberty University, as they will play three contests at the state-of-the-art Liberty University Field Hockey Complex, starting with an 11 a.m. contest against Alvernia on Saturday, Sept. 8. Lynchburg will also take on Old Dominion Athletic Conference rivals Roanoke (Wednesday, Sept. 26, 7 p.m.) and Shenandoah (Wednesday, Oct. 10, 7 p.m.) at the Liberty complex.

Steele's bunch will play five games on Shellenberger this season: vs. Frostburg State; vs. Belmont Abbey, Saturday, Sept. 15, 2 p.m.; vs. Stevenson, Monday, Oct. 8, 7 p.m.; vs. Bridgewater, Saturday, Oct. 20, 2:30 p.m. on Homecoming weekend; and vs. Washington and Lee, Saturday, Oct. 27 at 1 p.m. in a rematch of last season's ODAC championship game and the final regular season game.

Road dates of note include trips to NCAA qualifiers Kean (Sunday, Sept. 23, noon) and Christopher Newport (Wednesday, Oct. 3, 6 p.m.).

Lynchburg looks to improve on a successful 2017 season that saw the Hornets to a 16-4 record and a 6-1 mark in the ODAC. The team won 10 straight games before falling to Washington and Lee in an overtime thriller in the conference championship. With a solid core returning, Lynchburg is in search of its first league title and NCAA tournament berth since 2014.

LynchburgSports.com will continue to provide up-to-the-minute live statistics for home events, including those at Liberty University, throughout the 2018 season, and the Lynchburg Hornets Sports Network will provide live webcasts of each home contest.

Follow this link to view the full 2018 Lynchburg field hockey schedule.

--LYN--

Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Nov 24
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 2
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
at Roanoke Invitational
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule