Field hockey announces 2019 game schedule

Lindsay Riley playing field hockey

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg athletics and head field hockey coach Enza Steele are excited to unveil the Hornets' 2019 field hockey schedule.

Lynchburg's slate includes 11 home contests, three of which will be played at Liberty University's field hockey complex.

The opening whistle on the 2019 season will sound at 1 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 31 as the Hornets will take Lebanon Valley on Lynchburg's Shellenberger Field.

September includes five home dates as Lynchburg will play host to Kean, Mary Washington and York on Shellenberger along with games against Dickinson and Rowan at Liberty's facility.

The Hornets will open up Old Dominion Athletic Conference Friday, Oct. 4 at home versus Randolph-Macon and will return to Liberty two days later for the season's final non-conference contest against Christopher Newport.

The Hornets' other October home opponents include Virginia Wesleyan, Eastern Mennonite and Ferrum. The Saturday, Oct. 19 game against EMU will serve as both Homecoming and Senior Day.

Lynchburg is looking to make a return trip to the NCAA Division III tournament after reaching the Round of 16 in 2018. The Hornets captured the program's 19th ODAC championship and finished the year with a 16-6 record and received votes in the final National Field Hockey Coaches Association top 25 poll.

View the full 2019 Lynchburg field hockey schedule below.

2019 Lynchburg Field Hockey Schedule

Overall 12-3
Pct. .800
Conf. 5-0
Pct. 1.000
Streak Won 7
Home 8-2
Away 4-1
Neutral 0-0
Games 15
Goals 46
Goals/ game 3.1
Shot % .160
Shots/ game 19.1
GAA 1.27
Green cards 9
Date Opponent Notes Result Status Links
August
Sat. 24 at Shippensburg # Scrimmage 12:00 PM
Sat. 31 vs. Lebanon Valley W, 2-1 Final
 
September
Sat. 7 at Alvernia L, 3-2 Final - 2OT
Sun. 8 at Albright W, 7-2 Final
Sat. 14 vs. Kean L, 3-0 Final
Sun. 15 vs. Dickinson at Liberty University Field Hockey Complex W, 2-1 Final
Sat. 21 vs. Mary Washington Parents Weekend W, 6-2 Final
Tue. 24 at Stevenson W, 6-1 Final
Sat. 28 vs. York (Pa.) L, 1-0 Final
Sun. 29 vs. No. 2 Rowan at Liberty University Field Hockey Complex W, 4-3 Final
 
October
Fri. 4 vs. Randolph-Macon * CODE RED Game W, 2-0 Final
Sun. 6 vs. No. 12 Chris. Newport at Liberty University Field Hockey Complex W, 1-0 Final
Wed. 9 at Roanoke * W, 2-0 Final
Sat. 12 at Shenandoah * W, 2-1 Final - OT
Wed. 16 vs. Va. Wesleyan * W, 7-1 Final
Sat. 19 vs. East. Mennonite * Senior Day | Homecoming W, 3-0 Final
Wed. 23 at Washington and Lee * 7:00 PM
Sat. 26 at Bridgewater (Va.) * 1:00 PM
Wed. 30 vs. Ferrum * 7:00 PM
 
November
Sun. 3 at Wooster 12:00 PM
Tue. 5 vs. TBD % @ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- First Round TBA
Fri. 8 vs. TBD % @ at Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal TBA
Sat. 9 vs. TBD % @ at Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship TBA
# Exhibition
* Conference
% Post season
Bold team: Home event

--LYN--

Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Dig Pink Match
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 25
Lynchburg
at Delaware State
Fri Oct 25
6:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Oct 26
at Hampden-Sydney Tiger Individual, The Manor GC, Farmville, Va.
Sat Oct 26
1 p.m.
at Emory & Henry
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Mary Washington
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule