Ailsworth claims medalist honor at Goucher Invitational

Ben Ailsworth chipping in a golf tournament

Phoenix, Md. -- University of Lynchburg's men's golf team carded a two-day total of 54-over-par 630 Sunday and Monday to take second place at the Goucher Invitational at Hillendale Country Club.

Freshman Ben Ailsworth (Lynchburg, Va.) captured medalist honors to lead the way for the Hornets, shooting rounds of 70 and 82 on his way to a two-stroke tournament win.

The Hornets carried a six-shot lead after Day 1 with a 9-over 297 but battled much tougher conditions in Monday's second round, struggling to a 45-over 333.

Senior Branson Terrell (Lynchburg, Va.) also posted a top-five finish, shooting 71-85--156 to tie for fourth.

Junior Carter Old (Chesapeake, Va.) tied for eighth at 76-84--160, and freshman Harry Hodgert (Lynchburg, Va.) finished in a tie for 12th, 80-82--162.

Host Goucher topped the seven-team field by two strokes with a two-day total of 628.

Lynchburg will take the course again April 28-30 at the Old Dominion Athletic Conference championships at Bryan Park Golf Course in Browns Summit, N.C.

--LYN--

No Event
Tue Sep 17
Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule