No. 19 men's lacrosse falls to Salisbury in NCAA third round

Kevin Rogers cradling a lacrosse ball in a game

Salisbury, Md. -- A second- and third-quarter barrage from No. 2-ranked Salisbury brought the University of Lynchburg men's lacrosse team's season to a close Saturday evening as the Hornets fell, 18-10, in the third round of the NCAA Division III tournament.

Lynchburg jumped out to a 2-0 lead in the early going and trailed 5-4 after a quarter, but Salisbury outscored the Hornets by an 11-3 margin over the next 30 minutes to take control of the game.

Junior midfielders Colin Dean (Havre de Grace, Md.) and Kevin Rogers (Leesburg, Va.) led the way for the Hornets with a hat trick apiece, while senior attackman Logan Adams (Grosse Pointe, Mich.) dished out three assists.

Zach Pompea led the Sea Gulls' attack with two goals and three assists.

The Hornets seized momentum early thanks to goals by Rogers and freshman midfielder Jack Speers (Glenview, Ill.) in the first 3 minutes. Salisbury battled back to tie the game, 2-2, at the 10-minute mark, but Speers put the Hornets in front again less than 3 minutes later with his second goal, this one assisted by junior midfielder Brooks Poli (Downingtown, Pa.).

SU (21-1) rapped off three unanswered goals to seize the lead, but Dean brought the Hornets back within one with 2:18 left in the first, and the Hornets trailed 5-4 after a quarter.

Dean scored again early in the second to make it a 6-5 ballgame in Salisbury's favor, but the Sea Gulls scored four goals in the final 3:02 of the first half to lead 10-5.

The home team continued the deluge after halftime, outscoring Lynchburg 6-2 in the third. Senior attackmen Andrew Thomas (Roswell, Ga.) and Evan Lombardo (Franklin Park, N.J.) had the Hornet goals.

Rogers scored twice and Dean once in the final stanza to bring Lynchburg to 10 goals on the game.

It was the second Salisbury victory over Lynchburg in the 2019 season, tacked onto an 11-9 Sea Gulls win in Lynchburg on Feb. 9. The Sea Gulls have won five straight in the all-time series.

Nineteenth-ranked Lynchburg finishes the season with a 14-7 record and the program's eighth-straight national tournament appearance. Lynchburg reached the third round with a 15-5 second-round win over Heartland champion Transylvania on Wednesday evening.

Lynchburg earned the program's 400th victory during the 2019 campaign, the 40th season of varsity men's lacrosse at the Central Virginia school.

--LYN--

No Event
Tue Sep 17
at Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
at ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. 2019-20 Lynchburg Equestrian NCEA
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
Wed Aug 21
7:30 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Scrimmage
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule