Men's soccer unveils 2018 schedule

Lynchburg men's soccer players celebrate a goal. Logo: Lynchburg soccer.

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg head men's soccer coach Chris Yeager is excited to announce the Hornets' 2018 schedule, outlining the path to a third-straight Old Dominion Athletic Conference championship and NCAA Division III tournament appearance.

This season's slate includes nine home matches on Lynchburg's Shellenberger Field, but the campaign will kick off on another familiar pitch at the All Sports Cafe Roanoke College Invitational in Salem, Va. The Hornets will open the season Friday, Aug. 31 against Averett at 5 p.m. at Roanoke's Kerr Stadium, and Lynchburg will take on Oberlin at 5 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 1.

The Hornets will come home the following weekend for the annual Shellenberger Classic, which starts with a tough match against Dickinson, Friday, Sept. 7 at 7:30 p.m. The date with the Red Devils will be the first of four matches with NCAA tournament squads this season; Dickinson attended the Lynchburg Regional in the 2017 tournament, falling 3-1 to Emory University.

Lynchburg will wrap up the Shellenberger Classic on Saturday, Sept. 8 at 7:30 p.m. against Christopher Newport.

The road schedule remains tough with a midweek contest at Mary Washington, an NCAA qualifier a season ago, Wednesday, Sept. 12 at 4 p.m., before Lynchburg returns home to face another tournament club in Oglethorpe on Friday, Sept. 14 at 7 p.m. That match will kick off Parents Weekend festivities, and the team will also play at home vs. Berry Sunday, Sept. 16 at 1 p.m.

Lynchburg will remain home on Shellenberger Field to kick off ODAC play against Emory & Henry on Wednesday, Sept. 19 at 7 p.m.

Other home conference matches are Tuesday, Sept. 25 vs. Roanoke; Saturday, Oct. 6 vs. Washington and Lee; Wednesday, Oct. 17 vs. Virginia Wesleyan; and Saturday, Oct. 20 vs. Bridgewater (Senior Day).

The Hornets look to maintain the momentum from one of the most successful seasons in recent memory last year. Lynchburg carried an 18-2-2 record and finished the season ranked No. 21 in the nation by the United Soccer Coaches, reaching as high as No. 14 in the poll during the year. With a solid core returning from a squad that allowed just 10 goals last season, prospects look good for another run in the ODAC and NCAA tournament.

LynchburgSports.com will continue to provide up-to-the-minute live statistics for home events throughout the 2018 season, and the Lynchburg Hornets Sports Network will provide live webcasts and social media updates for each home contest.

Follow this link to view the full 2018 Lynchburg men's soccer schedule.

--LYN--

Men's soccer shuts out Guilford
September 22, 2018 Men's soccer shuts out Guilford
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Nov 24
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 2
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
at Roanoke Invitational
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule