Osman's golden goal pushes men's soccer over CNU

Abibi Osman dribbles the soccer ball. Graphic showing 1-0 final score in OT. School logos.

Lynchburg, Va. -- For the second-straight night, sophomore forward Abibi Osman (Charlottesville, Va.) played the hero in a thrilling victory for University of Lynchburg's 21st-ranked men's soccer program.

Osman's left-footer plunged into the net in the 98th minute, the golden goal in the Hornets' 1-0, overtime victory over Christopher Newport in the fourth and final match of the Shellenberger Classic tournament. The sophomore's score was his fourth of the weekend, following his hat trick in Friday's victory over Dickinson.

The goal, which was assisted by sophomore midfielder Ben Mackey (Leesburg, Va.), came just over a minute after Lynchburg found itself short-handed, losing a player on account of accumulated yellow cards in the match.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: No. 21 Lynchburg 1, Christopher Newport 0 (OT)

Records: No. 21 Lynchburg 4-0, Christopher Newport 3-2

Venue: Shellenberger Field, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • The match got off to a quiet start as a steady rain and gusty winds kept both teams aware of their footing. The Captains held a 4-3 advantage on shots and a 2-1 lead in corner kicks at halftime.

  • Lynchburg turned the tide early in the second half and nearly scored in the 51st minute when junior midfielder Jack Ashby (Lewes, Del.) chipped in a rebound off junior midfielder Dan Friedberg's (Blacksburg, Va.) shot, but Ashby was deemed offsides and the goal waved off.

  • Senior goalkeeper Dylan McLaurin (Stafford, Va.) made three saves in the second half, earning five for the match, to keep the Hornets in it. The shutout effort was his third of the season.

  • Christopher Newport began the overtime period with a scoring opportunity, forcing a pair of corner kicks in the first six minutes, but Lynchburg turned the tables quickly. After losing a man to the second yellow, the Hornets pushed the ball forward, aided by a couple Captains fouls. After the second, Mackey's ball found its way to Osman, who beat his defender left and shot off the dribble to end the match.

 

2018 SHELLENBERGER CLASSIC ALL-TOURNAMENT TEAM

MVP: Abibi Osman, Lynchburg
Jack Ashby, Lynchburg
Zach Bebe, Roanoke
Derek Cook, Christopher Newport
Atticus Cooke, Roanoke
Dan Friedberg, Lynchburg
Mohamed Kourouma, Dickinson
Ben Mackey, Lynchburg
Brendan McGovern, Dickinson
Ward Van de Water, Dickinson
Clay Van Gieson, Lynchburg

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets will hit the road Wednesday, Sept. 12 for a 4 p.m. match at Mary Washington before returning to celebrate Parents and Family Weekend with a pair of home matches.

**Communications note -- The red card issued for accumulated cautions in this match was later overturned. The narrative of this game recap has not been changed because it depicts events as they happened in the match.

--LYN--

Men's soccer shuts out Guilford
September 22, 2018 Men's soccer shuts out Guilford
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
Final
61 Lynchburg
42 at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule