Men's soccer earns first ODAC win

Ben Mackey and Abibi Osman celebrate a Lynchburg soccer goal

Lynchburg, Va. -- The University of Lynchburg men's soccer team shut out Randolph-Macon 4-0 Wednesday night in an Old Dominion Athletic Conference matchup on Shellenberger Field. 

The Hornets (4-3-4, 1-0-1 ODAC) got out to a fast start Wednesday night as they rattled off seven shots in the first 20 minutes. Senior Jack Ashby found the back of net for an unassisted goal, and the Hornets never looked back.

It was only four minutes later that freshman Luke Mega connected on a pass from sophomore Abibi Osman for his fourth goal of the season to extend Lynchburg's lead to 2-0 going to the half.

Mackey earned a foul in the R-MC box in the 50th minute and converted the ensuing penalty kick to put Lynchburg ahead, 3-0.

In the 60th minute, it was Mackey again on a perfect pass from senior Robert Dunham for his second goal of the game that cemented the Hornets' 4-0 victory.

It was the Hornets' sixth overall shutout and their third shut out victory of the year. Junior goalkeeper Kyle Gallagher notched two saves on the night.

Lynchburg out-shot the Yellow Jackets (4-6, 0-3-0 ODAC) 18-8 on the evening with nine on frame compared to only two for R-MC. The result was the first for Lynchburg since September 21 and broke a four-match draw streak.

The University of Lynchburg men's soccer team will be back in action on Saturday, Oct. 12 at 7 p.m., in another Old Dominion Athletic Conference matchup as they take on the Tigers from Hampden-Sydney College.

--LYN--

Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Fri Jan 24
at Finn Pincus Invite -- Day 1
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Jan 25
at Finn Pincus Invite -- Day 2
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Jan 25
1 p.m.
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 01
at Roanoke Division I Invite
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
View Full Schedule
Fri Feb 14
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Huntingdon
Huntingdon Tournament
Sat Feb 15
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Emory
@ Montgomery, Ala. Huntingdon Tournament
Sun Feb 16
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Millsaps
@ Montgomery, Ala. (Huntingdon College) Huntingdon Tournament
Wed Feb 19
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Sat Feb 22
5:00 PM
Penn St.-Abington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Fayetteville, N.C. Methodist Invitational
Sat Feb 22
5:00 PM
Manhattanville
vs. Lynchburg
@ Fayetteville, N.C. Methodist Invitational
Sun Feb 23
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Methodist
Methodist Invitational
Wed Feb 26
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Greensboro
Sat Feb 29
12:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 29
3:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Mar 01
12:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Mar 03
2:00 PM
Averett
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Mar 07
12:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Mar 07
3:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Mar 10
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Pfeiffer
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
Final
61 Lynchburg
42 at Averett
Wed Jan 01
Final - OT
85 William Peace
79 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
Final
74 Va. Wesleyan
76 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
Final
82 Lynchburg
69 at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
Final
51 Hampden-Sydney
76 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
Final
88 Lynchburg
64 at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Feb 05
7:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Wed Feb 12
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Feb 19
7:30 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
Final
70 Lynchburg
26 vs. Hood
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. - Ocean Center Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
Final
60 No. 18 Marymount
56 vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. - Ocean Center Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
Final
53 Lynchburg
75 at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
Final
54 Johns Hopkins
49 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
Final
46 Guilford
50 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
Final
55 Lynchburg
64 at Shenandoah
Note time change
Wed Jan 15
Final
69 Washington and Lee
60 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
Final
61 Lynchburg
69 at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Feb 05
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 08
4:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Tue Feb 11
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 15
4:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Feb 19
5:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Play4Kay Game
Sat Feb 22
2:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Feb 27
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Quarterfinal
Sat Feb 29
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Semifinal
Sun Mar 01
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.