Men's tennis tops Roanoke in conference thriller

Daniel Christian celebrating a point in a tennis match

Salem, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's men's tennis team put an end to its losing streak Friday afternoon with a 5-4 Old Dominion Athletic Conference victory at rival Roanoke.

The Hornets picked up two points on forfeits as Roanoke only had five players available for the match.
Lynchburg's other three points came in dramatic fashion, as sophomore Daniel Christian (Jamestown, N.C.), senior Nick Savino (Bristol, Conn.) and sophomore Vincent Oliver (Springfield, Va.) won three-set victories.

Christian secured a point at No. 3 with his 6-1, 4-6, 6-3 win over the Maroons' Jack Dorris; Savino followed at No. 4, beating RC's Thomas Hodges, 6-2, 5-7, 6-4. Oliver finished the match at No. 5, 3-6, 6-2, 6-4, over Alston Martin to secure the win for Lynchburg.

The Hornets will be back in action Sunday, March 31, at ODAC foe Emory & Henry beginning 1:30 p.m.

--LYN--

Sun May 12
Final
7 No. 17 Lynchburg
4 at No. 1 Va. Wesleyan
NCAA Tournament - Virginia Beach Regional
Sun May 12
Final
2 No. 1 Va. Wesleyan
4 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
@ Virginia Wesleyan University, Virginia Beach, Va. NCAA Tournament - Virginia Beach Regional
Fri May 17
Final
2 No. 18 Emory
7 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 1
Sat May 18
Final
9 No. 18 Emory
5 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 2
Sat May 18
Final
10 No. 18 Emory
8 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 3
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Apr 03
Final
5 No. 9 Randolph-Macon
10 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Apr 06
Final
6 Lynchburg
4 at Shenandoah
Sat Apr 06
Final
2 Lynchburg
3 at Shenandoah
Tue Apr 09
Final
6 Va. Wesleyan
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Apr 13
Final
1 Guilford
3 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Apr 13
Final
1 Guilford
4 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Apr 16
Final
10 Greensboro
2 vs. Lynchburg
Note time change
Wed Apr 17
Final
3 Lynchburg
11 at Hampden-Sydney
Sat Apr 20
Final
4 Bridgewater (Va.)
5 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Day
Sat Apr 20
Final
3 Bridgewater (Va.)
2 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Apr 23
Final
13 Lynchburg
11 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Sat Apr 27
Final
5 Lynchburg
6 at Roanoke
at Kiwanis Field
Sat Apr 27
Final - 11 innings
7 Lynchburg
10 at Roanoke
at Kiwanis Field
Tue Apr 30
Final
12 Lynchburg
6 at Greensboro
Fri May 03
Final - 12 innings
1 Lynchburg
2 at Roanoke
ODAC First-Round | Game 1
Sun May 05
Final
11 Roanoke
3 vs. Lynchburg
ODAC First Round | Game 2
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.