Men's tennis celebrates Senior Day with big win

Colton Mullins celebrates a point in a tennis match

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's men's tennis team celebrated Senior Day with an 8-1 rout of crosstown rival Randolph Thursday in Old Dominion Athletic Conference play.

Lynchburg swept through doubles play to take control of the match early. Senior Nick Savino (Bristol, Conn.) and sophomore Daniel Christian (Jamestown, N.C.) fought to an 8-4 win at the top flight, followed by and 8-2 victory by No. 2 duo seniors Bryce Barber (Evington, Va.) and Colton Mullins (Appomattox, Va.).

Sophomores Vincent Oliver (Springfield, Va.) and Shawn Ikegami (Kumamoto, JAPAN) cruised at No. 3, winning 8-1.

The bottom end of the Hornets' lineup put the match away in singles play. Savino and Oliver cruised to 6-0, 6-0 wins at Nos. 4 and 5, respectively, and senior Brad Carson (Severna Park, Md.) won easily, 6-1, 6-0, at No. 6.

Christian followed with a 6-4, 6-2 triumph at No. 3, and Mullins fought hard at No. 1 for a 7-5, 6-1 win.

The WildCats picked up their point at the second flight.

Prior to the match, the Hornets celebrated the Class of 2019 -- Barber, Carson, Mullins and Savino.

Lynchburg (7-8, 4-5 ODAC) will continue ODAC play Wednesday, April 17 at Shenandoah.

--LYN--

Sun May 12
Final
7 No. 17 Lynchburg
4 at No. 1 Va. Wesleyan
NCAA Tournament - Virginia Beach Regional
Sun May 12
Final
2 No. 1 Va. Wesleyan
4 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
@ Virginia Wesleyan University, Virginia Beach, Va. NCAA Tournament - Virginia Beach Regional
Fri May 17
Final
2 No. 18 Emory
7 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 1
Sat May 18
Final
9 No. 18 Emory
5 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 2
Sat May 18
Final
10 No. 18 Emory
8 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 3
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Apr 03
Final
5 No. 9 Randolph-Macon
10 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Apr 06
Final
6 Lynchburg
4 at Shenandoah
Sat Apr 06
Final
2 Lynchburg
3 at Shenandoah
Tue Apr 09
Final
6 Va. Wesleyan
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Apr 13
Final
1 Guilford
3 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Apr 13
Final
1 Guilford
4 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Apr 16
Final
10 Greensboro
2 vs. Lynchburg
Note time change
Wed Apr 17
Final
3 Lynchburg
11 at Hampden-Sydney
Sat Apr 20
Final
4 Bridgewater (Va.)
5 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Day
Sat Apr 20
Final
3 Bridgewater (Va.)
2 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Apr 23
Final
13 Lynchburg
11 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Sat Apr 27
Final
5 Lynchburg
6 at Roanoke
at Kiwanis Field
Sat Apr 27
Final - 11 innings
7 Lynchburg
10 at Roanoke
at Kiwanis Field
Tue Apr 30
Final
12 Lynchburg
6 at Greensboro
Fri May 03
Final - 12 innings
1 Lynchburg
2 at Roanoke
ODAC First-Round | Game 1
Sun May 05
Final
11 Roanoke
3 vs. Lynchburg
ODAC First Round | Game 2
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.