Softball splits with Salisbury

Skylar Dickens hits a softball. Text: Skylar Dickens 5-for-9, 2 R

Salisbury, Md. -- The 19th-ranked Lynchburg College's softball team fought to a doubleheader split on the road at Salisbury Friday afternoon, falling 6-5 in the opener before rebounding to take the nightcap, 11-4.

The loss put an end to Lynchburg's eight-game, season-opening win streak, but the Hornets got right back on track with 18 hits on the tail end of the twinbill.

Senior right-hander Conner English (Altavista, Va.) struck out four in a losing effort in the opener, breaking Katie Bruce's career strikeouts record.

Senior center fielder Skylar Dickens (Virginia Beach, Va.) totaled five hits and two runs scored on the day, while the heart of the LC order brought their power bats to the ballpark. Freshman left fielder Jordyne Vance (Lynchburg, Va.) homered in the opener, junior third baseman Taylor Mabry (Bassett, Va.) and senior second baseman Leslie Bourgeois (Bealeton, Va.) both went deep in the second game, and junior first baseman Mackenzie Chitwood (Ferrum, Va.) doubled in each.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Salisbury 6, No. 19 Lynchburg 5

Game 2 Final: No. 19 Lynchburg 11, Salisbury 4

Records: No. 19 Lynchburg 9-1, Salisbury

Venue: Sea Gull Softball Stadium, Salisbury University, Salisbury, Md.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

- Lynchburg leapt out to a 2-0 lead in the top of the second on Vance's two-run home run to left, her third of the season, but Salisbury evened the tally with a two-run homer of its own in the following frame.

- The Hornets put three more runs across in the fifth. Chitwood's two-run double plated junior catcher Brittany Coffey (Manassas, Va.) and Dickens, and Bourgeois brought Chitwood home with a two-out RBI single.

- The Sea Gulls fought back with four runs in the bottom half on four consecutive RBI knocks that gave the hosts the lead. Lynchburg got runners aboard in both the sixth and seventh but were unable to bring the tying run around.

Game 2

- The Hornets responded in a big way with a season-high 18 hits in Game 2, and they didn't waste time. Sophomore shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.) delivered a bases-loaded, two-out, RBI single for a 1-0 lead in the first.

- After Salisbury plated two in the bottom half, Lynchburg took the lead for good with five in the top of the second. Chitwood delivered her second two-run double of the afternoon, and Mabry followed it with a two-run homer to left on the 11th pitch of an epic at-bat. After a pitching change, Bourgeois slammed another homer to the pull side to put LC ahead 6-2.

- The Sea Gulls closed the gap with single runs in the second and third, but sophomore hurler Alex Cisar (Sykesville, Md.) slammed the door with four innings of shutout ball to end the game. LC added runs in the final three innings, which included a pair of RBI singles off Hugate's bat.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will stay on the Eastern Shore for the weekend to take part in the Salisbury Invitational. The Hornets will play a doubleheader against Immaculata Saturday beginning at noon and another Sunday at 10 a.m. against Rochester. All four games will be played at the Henry S. Parker Softball Complex, Field 1.

--LC--

Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Nov 24
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 2
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule