Softball stings Pride with doubleheader sweep

Leslie Bourgeois gets ready to hit.

Lynchburg, Va. -- The Lynchburg College softball team rolled to a pair of 4-1 victories over visiting Greensboro in Thursday's first day of competition on Moon Field in 2018.

Hornet pitching shone on the afternoon with a pair of four-hit complete-game efforts, first by senior Conner English (Altavista, Va.) and later by sophomore Alex Cisar (Sykesville, Md.).

Sophomore designated player Sarah Commons (Glen Allen, Va.) went 5-for-7 on the day and scored two runs, and senior second baseman Leslie Bourgeois (Bealeton, Va.) collected three hits, including a homer, and drove in three runs. Sophomore shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.) also drove in three runs for Lynchburg.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Lynchburg 4, Greensboro 1

Game 2 Final: Lynchburg 4, Greensboro 1

Records: Lynchburg 13-3, Greensboro 12-12

Venue: Aubrey R. Moon Jr. Field, Lynchburg College, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

  • Lynchburg got on the board with some clutch two-out hitting in the bottom of the first inning. Bourgeois opened the scoring with her two-run blast to dead center field and, after Commons followed it with a single, freshman right fielder Jordyne Vance (Lynchburg, Va.) plated her with a double in the gap.

  • The Hornets added another run an inning later on Hugate's sacrifice fly to left.

  • English cruised through four hitless innings before running into trouble in the fifth. She dodged a one-out triple with a groundout and a flyout, though, to preserve the shutout.

  • Greensboro capitalized on a Lynchburg error for their lone run of the ballgame, which came in the sixth.

Game 2

  • The Hornet offense got LC an early lead in the nightcap, this time in the second inning. After Hugate's leadoff single, the shortstop stole second and advanced to third on a groundout before scoring on a sac fly by junior catcher Brittany Coffey (Manassas, Va.).

  • Lynchburg added another score the next inning on a two-out RBI single by Bourgeois.

  • The Hornets made it a 4-0 lead on a two-out, two-run double by Hugate in the fifth inning.

  • Meanwhile, after dodging a threat in a two-hit first for the Pride, Cisar didn't allow another hit until the sixth, when GC scored its lone run. She retired 13 straight Greensboro batters between the second and sixth innings. Cisar struck out nine in her fourth win of the season.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets hit the road on Sunday for Winston-Salem, N.C., where they'll play a double-dip at Salem College. First pitch is scheduled for 1 p.m.

--LC--

Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Nov 24
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 2
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule