Softball splits with crosstown rival Randolph

Taylor Mabry hits a softball. Text: taylor mabry 4-for-6 2 HR, 6 RBI

Lynchburg, Va. -- The Lynchburg College softball team battled to a doubleheader split at crosstown rival Randolph on Thursday in Old Dominion Athletic Conference play, winning the opener, 16-5, before falling by a 4-1 score in Game 2.

Junior third baseman Taylor Mabry (Bassett, Va.) hammered two home runs in the first contest and drove in six runs in a 4-for-6 day at the plate.

Sophomore shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.) enjoyed a four-hit day at the plate and collected four RBI, freshman right fielder Jordyne Vance (Lynchburg, Va.) also had four hits on the day, and sophomore left fielder Carol Oberhelman (Washington Township, N.J.) knocked two doubles and drove in three runs.

Lynchburg pounded out 21 hits in Game 1, but the bats went cold on the back end, LC managing just three knocks.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Lynchburg 16, Randolph 5

Game 2 Final: Randolph 4, Lynchburg 1

Records: Lynchburg (16-8, 2-4 ODAC), Randolph (8-12, 1-2 ODAC)

Venue: Randolph Softball Field, Randolph College, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

  • Lynchburg leapt out to an early 2-0 lead on Mabry's first blast of the day, which brought senior center fielder Skylar Dickens (Virginia Beach, Va.) around to score.

  • After the WildCats tied the game in the second, Mabry homered again in the third inning, another two-run bomb, for a 4-2 Hornets lead.

  • Randolph again tied the game in the bottom half of the inning, but the Lynchburg offense exploded late. The Hornets scored six times in the fourth, highlighted by two-run single off Hugate's bat, to lead 10-4.

  • The Hornets erased all doubt in the seventh with another six-run outburst. Hugate delivered another two-RBI single, which Oberhelman followed with a two-run double.

  • Dickens finished the opener with three hits and a trio of runs scored. Mabry, senior second baseman Leslie Bourgeois (Bealeton, Va.), and Hugate also had three hits in the game; and Vance went 4-for-5 with a run scored.

  • Freshman right-hander Michelle Lehan (Virginia Beach, Va.) picked up her first collegiate win in relief.

Game 2

  • The Hornets found themselves on top in the early going again in Game 2 on Mabry's first-inning sacrifice fly, which brought home junior first baseman Mackenzie Chitwood (Ferrum, Va.), who tripled.

  • Randolph tied the game an inning later on a first-and-third running situation and took the lead in the bottom of the fourth when Brittany Campbell stroked an RBI single. The WildCats added single insurance runs in the fifth and sixth innings.

  • Lynchburg was held without a hit in the final four innings of the game.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Things get no easier for Lynchburg, as the Hornets will head to No. 4-ranked Randolph-Macon for another key ODAC doubleheader on Saturday, March 31. First pitch in Ashland, Va., is scheduled for 1 p.m.

--LC--

Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
at NCAA Division III South/Southeast Regional Championships
Shelby Farms Park, Memphis, Tenn.
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 1
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule