Softball ends No. 4 Randolph-Macon's 21-game win streak

Sarah Commons runs the bases. Text: Sarah Commons 3-for-7, run, game-winning RBI

Ashland, Va. -- The Lynchburg College softball team grinded out an extra-inning, 6-5 victory over fourth-ranked Randolph-Macon in Saturday afternoon's doubleheader opener but slipped up in the nightcap, 7-0, to settle for an Old Dominion Athletic Conference road split.

Sophomore designated player Sarah Commons (Glen Allen, Va.) drove in the eventual game-winning run for the Hornets on her third hit of the game in the 10th inning, while junior Taylor Belknap (Arden, N.C.) closed the game with a scoreless 1 ⅔ innings for the win, snapping the Yellow Jackets' 21-game win streak.

Senior center fielder Skylar DIckens (Virginia Beach, Va.) and sophomore shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.) each had multi-hit games for LC in the victory as well.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Lynchburg 6, No. 4 Randolph-Macon 5 (10 inn.)

Game 2 Final: No. 4 Randolph-Macon 7, Lynchburg 0

Records: Lynchburg (17-9, 3-5 ODAC), No. 4 Randolph-Macon (22-2, 3-1 ODAC)

Venue: R-MC Softball Field, Randolph-Macon College, Ashland, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

- Both pitchers, Lynchburg's Conner English (Altavista, Va.) and R-MC's Candace Whittemore, were dominant early; neither allowed a baserunner past second for the game's first three innings.

- After Randolph-Macon took a 2-0 lead in the fourth, Lynchburg punched right back with three runs in the top of the fifth. Freshman right fielder Jordyne Vance (Lynchburg, Va.) broke up the shutout with a sacrifice fly, followed by RBI hits from Dickens and junior first baseman Mackenzie Chitwood (Ferrum, Va.).

- R-MC came right back to tie the game in the bottom half, however, and the game remained knotted 3-3 until the eighth inning. Freshman pitcher Kayley Cox (Yorktown, Va.) did her part with 4 ⅓ innings of scoreless relief.

- In the eighth, Hugate singled home senior pinch runner Mackenzie Mount (Forest, Va.), who was on second to start the inning per the universal tiebreak rule, but Lynchburg could manage no more. The Yellow Jackets also plated a run in the eighth, and the two teams traded runs in the same manner in the ninth inning to enter the 10th tied, 5-5.

- With two outs in the top of the 10th, Commons singled up the middle to bring home freshman pinch runner Haylee Wood (Goode, Va.). In the bottom half, the Yellow Jackets moved their runner to third with a sacrifice bunt. Belknap induced a grounder to third on the ensuing play, and the Hornet defense cut the would-be tying run down at the plate for the second out. After a single, Belknap got a popup to seal the victory, ending R-MC's 21-game win streak.

Game 2

- Randolph-Macon hurler Madie Rhoads twirled a gem on the back end of the twinbill, striking out eight Hornets in a two-hit shutout. Junior catcher Brittany Coffey (Manassas, Va.) and junior third baseman Taylor Mabry had the hits for LC.

- Meanwhile, the Yellow Jackets got to Lynchburg pitching to the tune of five runs in the second, adding two more in the sixth to bring the score to its final standing at 7-0.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg continues its road trip through the ODAC on Wednesday, April 4 with a trip to Guilford. Game 1 of the double-dip in Greensboro, N.C., is set for 2:30 p.m.

--LC--

Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
at NCAA Division III South/Southeast Regional Championships
Shelby Farms Park, Memphis, Tenn.
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 1
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule