Softball earns NCAA tournament at-large bid

Lynchburg softball players salute the flag during the national anthem.

Indianapolis, Ind. -- The Lynchburg College softball season lives on.

Lynchburg has reached the NCAA Division III national tournament for the sixth time in program history and the first time since the 2014 season, the NCAA announced with its presentation of the tournament bracket Monday afternoon.

The Hornets (32-10) will travel to Emory University in Atlanta, Ga., for the tournament's Atlanta Regional, and Lynchburg will take on Southern Athletic Association champion and No. 4-ranked Berry in the first round of play on Emory U.'s Cooper Field. The host Eagles and Maryville will play in the first round on the other side of the pod.

Competition will begin on Friday, May 11 in the double-elimination regional with the Hornets and Berry playing at noon. Emory and Maryville will play at 2:30 p.m. Friday.

Winners will move on to Saturday's 11 a.m. game, while the losers will face off at 1:30 p.m. in loser-out action. The loser of Game 3 and winner of Game 4 will square off at 4 p.m.  The two remaining teams will play at noon Sunday and, if necessary, the final game will follow at 2:30 p.m.

Lynchburg is among three Old Dominion Athletic Conference schools to reach the 2018 tournament as conference champion and defending national champion No. 1 Virginia Wesleyan and No. 5 Randolph-Macon were both also included in the field.

The Hornets have now received six NCAA tournament berths, all under the watch of current head coach Dawn Simmons, amassing an 8-11 record in tournament play. LC reached the NCAA Division III national championship in 2008.

To view the regional tournament website, follow this link.

 

2018 NCAA DIVISION III SOFTBALL TOURNAMENT | ATLANTA REGIONAL

May 11-13 | Cooper Field, Emory University, Atlanta, Ga.

Friday, May 11
Game 1 – No. 4 Berry vs. Lynchburg, noon
Game 2 – Emory vs. Maryville, 2:30 p.m.

Saturday, May 12
Game 3 – Winner of Game 1 vs. Winner of Game 2, 11 a.m.
Game 4 – Loser of Game 1 vs. Loser of Game 2, 1:30 p.m.
Game 5- Winner of Game 4 vs. Loser of Game 3, 4 p.m.

Sunday, May 13
Game 6 – Winner of Game 3 vs. Winner of Game 5, noon
Game 7 – if necessary, 2:30 p.m.

--LC--

Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
at NCAA Division III South/Southeast Regional Championships
Shelby Farms Park, Memphis, Tenn.
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
at NCAA Division III Championships
E.P. "Tom" Sawyer State Park, Louisville, Ky.
Sat Nov 23
at Randolph-Macon Invitational -- Day 1
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule