Softball sweeps No. 17 Salisbury to cap perfect weekend

Alex Cisar delivers a softball pitch

Salisbury, Md. -- University of Lynchburg's softball team made it a perfect weekend Monday with a doubleheader sweep of 17th-ranked Salisbury, claiming 9-0 and 5-4 victories over the host Sea Gulls.

The Hornets offense clicked on all cylinders in the first game, powered by a grand slam and five RBI from senior first baseman Mackenzie Chitwood (Ferrum, Va.) and a 3-for-3 game from junior second baseman Sarah Commons (Glen Allen, Va.), while junior right-hander Alex Cisar (Sykesville, Md.) twirled a three-hit shutout in the circle.

Lynchburg came from behind in Game 2 as sophomore designated player Morgan Mitchell (Mineral, Va.) and sophomore left fielder Kortney Leazer (Remington, Va.) each drove in two runs.

The Hornets' went an unblemished 6-0 on the weekend in Salisbury, Md. with sweeps of the Sea Gulls, The College of New Jersey, and Cortland, winning twice by the eight-run mercy rule.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Lynchburg 9, No. 17 Salisbury 0 (5 inn.)

Game 2 Final: Lynchburg 5, No. 17 Salisbury 4

Records: Lynchburg 13-1, No. 17 Salisbury 9-4

Venue: Sea Gull Stadium, Salisbury University, Salisbury, Md.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

  • Lynchburg jumped out to a 3-0 lead in the top of the second thanks to RBI singles by Chitwood and senior third baseman Taylor Mabry (Bassett, Va.) and a bases-loaded walk to Mitchell. The Hornets added another run in the third when junior shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.) delivered an RBI knock.

  • The visitors blew the game open in the fourth when a Salisbury fielding error opened the door and Chitwood slugged a two-out grand slam to center field.

  • Cisar shut the door on the Sea Gulls with five innings of three-hit ball, striking out one.

Game 2

  • Salisbury got on the board early in the nightcap with two runs in the first, but Lynchburg responded in the fourth when Mitchell knocked a two-run double to left-center field.

  • The Hornets took the lead an inning later on Chitwood's sacrifice fly and added insurance in the sixth when Leazer clubbed a two-run homer.

  • The Sea Gulls pulled within one after a two-run home run of their own in the sixth, but sophomore right-hander Kayley Cox (Yorktown, Va.) set down the final five hitters of the ballgame in order to capture her third win of the season.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The non-conference schedule gets no easier for Lynchburg as the Hornets will head to No. 8 Christopher Newport for a doubleheader Thursday. First pitch is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. at the Newport News, Va.-based school.

--LYN--

Softball unveils 2019 schedule
September 13, 2018 Softball unveils 2019 schedule
Sat Dec 07
at Bast-Cregger Invitational
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule