No. 15 softball splits at Ferrum to open ODAC play

Mackenzie Chitwood getting ready to hit

Ferrum, Va. -- The 15th-ranked University of Lynchburg softball team battled to a doubleheader split with Ferrum in both teams' Old Dominion Athletic Conference opener Wednesday evening.

The Panthers took Game 1, 3-2, before Lynchburg rebounded to win the nightcap, 10-4.

Junior shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.), senior first baseman Mackenzie Chitwood (Ferrum, Va.), and junior second baseman Sarah Commons (Glen Allen, Va.) each drove in three runs on the day for the Hornets.

Chitwood, senior third baseman Taylor Mabry (Bassett, Va.), and freshman designated player Olivia Herman (Westminster, Md.) each homered for Lynchburg.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Game 1 Final: Ferrum 3, No. 15 Lynchburg 2

Game 2 Final: No. 15 Lynchburg 10, Ferrum 4

Records: Lynchburg (16-4, 1-1 ODAC), Ferrum (11-7, 1-1 ODAC)

Venue: American National Bank Field, Ferrum College, Ferrum, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

Game 1

  • The Panthers drew first blood on Bayley Cunningham's two-run single in the fourth inning. Lynchburg responded in the top of the fifth thanks to Hugate's single that brought home sophomore center fielder Haylee Wood (Goode, Va.).

  • Ferrum's Tori Scott clubbed a solo homer in the sixth to make it 3-1 in the Panthers' favor.

  • Lynchburg loaded the bases with one out in the seventh and Hugate brought home the Hornets' second run with an RBI groundout, but the visitors couldn't get the tying run across.

Game 2

  • Things started much quicker for Lynchburg in the second contest as Mabry and Herman both smacked solo shots in the first inning. It was Mabry's ODAC-leading seventh long ball of the season, while Herman's was the first of her college career.

  • Ferrum responded with three runs in the bottom of the first to take a 3-2 lead.

  • Lynchburg tied the game in the fifth when Herman reached on a Panthers error that scored Chitwood from third, but FC retook the lead in the bottom half by way of an RBI groundout.

  • The Hornets exploded for seven runs in the sixth. Hugate doubled home Commons to tie the game, 4-4, and Chitwood broke the tie with a three-run homer to left, her sixth of the year. Lynchburg loaded the bases again following the big fly, and Commons cleared them with a triple to right field to break the game open.

  • Junior right-hander Alex Cisar (Sykesville, Md.) earned the complete-game victory for Lynchburg, striking out four and allowing just one earned run.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will return home for its ODAC home-opener with No. 24-ranked Randolph-Macon on Saturday, March 23. First pitch is scheduled for 1 p.m. Lynchburg will pay homage to our armed forces Saturday with the celebration of Military Appreciation Day.

--LYN--

Softball unveils 2019 schedule
September 13, 2018 Softball unveils 2019 schedule
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Nov 13
1:30 PM
No. 18 Lynchburg
at No. 14 Centre
NCAA Tournament - First Round
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
at NCAA Division III South/Southeast Regional Championships
Shelby Farms Park, Memphis, Tenn.
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
3:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule