No. 17 softball wins Super Regional opener with late rally

Kayley Cox delivering a pitch in a softball game

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's softball team woke the bats up in the fifth inning rallying for four runs to come from behind in a 7-2 win over No. 18 Emory University in Game 1 of the NCAA Division III Lynchburg, Virginia Super Regional.

The 17th-ranked Hornets will look to wrap up the best-of-three series Saturday, May 18 at 2 p.m. on their own Moon Field.

Sophomore right-hander Kayley Cox (Yorktown, Va.) nailed down her sixth save of the season for the Hornets, putting her in sole possession of both Lynchburg's and the Old Dominion Athletic Conference's single-season saves record.

Cox entered for junior right-hander Alex Cisar (Sykesville, Md.) with the bases loaded and one out in the bottom of the sixth inning (Lynchburg was playing as the visiting team.) and wriggled out of the jam without a run crossing the plate.

Cisar pulled a Houdini act of her own earlier in the ballgame. The righty came in in relief of senior right-hander Taylor Belknap (Arden, N.C.) in the second inning with nobody out and runners on second and third, and got out of the jam with two groundouts and a lineout.

Cisar earned the win, her 16th of the season, with 4 ⅓ shutout innings of work.

Things didn't look so good for the Hornets in the beginning. Emory scored a first-inning run after a leadoff triple by Jenna Wilson and the ensuing RBI single from Sarah Katz. The Eagles got a third-straight hit off Belknap, but the senior set the next trio down in order to escape the jam.

Meanwhile, Eagles pitcher Toko Miller held the potent Lynchburg offense in check as the Hornets managed just two hits in the first four innings.

Lynchburg finally broke through in the fifth as the bottom of the order sparked a four-run rally. Junior left fielder Carol Oberhelman (Washington Township, N.J.) tied the game with an RBI single up the middle, and senior third baseman Taylor Mabry (Bassett, Va.) gave Lynchburg the lead with a run-scoring single to right field. Lynchburg added two more runs on RBI outs by senior first baseman Mackenzie Chitwood (Ferrum, Va.) and senior catcher Brittany Coffey (Manassas, Va.) to take a 4-1 lead.

The Hornets rallied again with two out in the fifth, sparked by a single off the bat of sophomore right fielder Kortney Leazer (Remington, Va.), followed by another sharp single from Oberhelman.

Junior shortstop Kayla Hugate (Chesterfield, Va.) came through with an RBI single, one of her three hits, and Mabry followed with another RBI knock to make it 6-1.

Lynchburg extended the lead to 7-1 when Coffey led off the seventh with a solo home run.

Cox allowed a seventh-inning run but avoided any further damage to cinch the win.

The two teams will continue the best-of-three series Saturday, May 17 at 2 p.m. on Lynchburg's Moon Field. The Hornets will be the home team for Game 2 and, if necessary, Game 3, which will follow the 2 p.m. start Saturday if the teams need to break a one-to-one tie.

Please visit the Lynchburg, Virginia Super Regional homepage for more information on Saturday action, including parking, which is imperative due to Lynchburg's commencement ceremonies.

--LYN--

Softball unveils 2019 schedule
September 13, 2018 Softball unveils 2019 schedule
Fri Jan 17
at VMI Keydet Invitational -- Day 1
Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, Va.
Fri Jan 17
6 p.m.
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Men's team only
Sat Jan 18
at VMI Keydet Invitational -- Day 2
Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, Va.
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Fri Jan 24
at Finn Pincus Invite -- Day 1
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Jan 25
at Finn Pincus Invite -- Day 2
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Jan 25
1 p.m.
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
View Full Schedule
Fri Feb 14
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Huntingdon
Huntingdon Tournament
Sat Feb 15
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Emory
@ Montgomery, Ala. Huntingdon Tournament
Sun Feb 16
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Millsaps
@ Montgomery, Ala. (Huntingdon College) Huntingdon Tournament
Wed Feb 19
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Sat Feb 22
5:00 PM
Penn St.-Abington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Fayetteville, N.C. Methodist Invitational
Sat Feb 22
5:00 PM
Manhattanville
vs. Lynchburg
@ Fayetteville, N.C. Methodist Invitational
Sun Feb 23
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Methodist
Methodist Invitational
Wed Feb 26
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Greensboro
Sat Feb 29
12:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 29
3:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Sun Mar 01
12:00 PM
York (Pa.)
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Mar 03
2:00 PM
Averett
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Mar 07
12:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Mar 07
3:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
Final
61 Lynchburg
42 at Averett
Wed Jan 01
Final - OT
85 William Peace
79 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
Final
74 Va. Wesleyan
76 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
Final
82 Lynchburg
69 at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
Final
51 Hampden-Sydney
76 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Feb 05
7:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Wed Feb 12
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Feb 19
7:30 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
Final
70 Lynchburg
26 vs. Hood
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. - Ocean Center Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
Final
60 No. 18 Marymount
56 vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. - Ocean Center Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
Final
53 Lynchburg
75 at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
Final
54 Johns Hopkins
49 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
Final
46 Guilford
50 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
Final
55 Lynchburg
64 at Shenandoah
Note time change
Wed Jan 15
Final
69 Washington and Lee
60 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Feb 05
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 08
4:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Tue Feb 11
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Feb 15
4:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Feb 19
5:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Play4Kay Game
Sat Feb 22
2:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Feb 27
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Quarterfinal
Sat Feb 29
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Semifinal
Sun Mar 01
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Salem Civic Center, Salem, Va. ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.