Swimming rewrites record books at Yellow Jacket Invitational

A men's swimmer with face in the water swimming butterfly

Richmond, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's men's and women's swim teams rewrote the first-year program's record books this weekend at the Yellow Jacket Invitational, hosted by Randolph-Macon College at SwimRVA.

The Hornets set 32 of the program's 38 records as both the men's and women's teams set 16 top marks, and the women's team claimed event victories in three races.

Both teams finished fifth in their 12-team fields.

Graduate student Alyssa Reed had a hand in all three of the Hornets' event wins, claiming top honors in the 100-yard and 200-yard butterfly events and besting her own program records in both.

Her 100 fly mark of 58.28 won by almost a full second, and she finished the 200 in 2:12.12, out-touching teammate Molly Shand at the wall.

Reed, Shand, Claire Galloway, and Corrinn Ford teamed up for Lynchburg's other victory, edging host Randolph-Macon in the 400-yard medley relay (4:02.78) for another record-setting mark.

Reed also posted a new program best in the 100-yard backstroke (1:01.00) with her opening leg of the 400-yard medley relay.

Galloway finished second in a pair of events -- the 100-yard (1:06.46) and 200-yard breaststrokes (2:26.13) -- and set collegiate bests in both while also contributing to all four of the Hornet women's record-setting relay races. She also set a new program mark in the 50-yard freestyle (25.10).

Shand was also busy etching her name into Lynchburg's record book with new bests in the 200-yard freestyle (2:02.75 in the 800-yard free relay), 500-yard freestyle (5:31.66), and 400-yard individual medley (4:53.02). She took part in three of the Hornets' relays as well.

Hannah Hale set Lynchburg's other individual record over the weekend with a 19:20.27 result in the 1,650-yard freestyle, while Abbie Arthur notched a record with Reed, Ford, and Galloway in the 400-yard freestyle relay.

Not to be outdone, the Hornet men were also busy topping their own records.

Parker Hayungs broke his own marks in the 500 free (4:54.61), 100 fly (53.53), and 200 fly (2:00.62), while also taking part in four record-setting relay events.

Chris Jennings tallied new marks in the 100 free (50.12), 100 breast (1:02.46), and four relays of his own.

Kevin Bennett notched a pair of individual marks in the 100 back (54.01), 200 free (1:57.94), 200 medley relay (1:41.22), and 800 free relay (7:30.30).

Spencer Swam established a new record in the 1,650 free (18:52.51), and Zach Bennett did the same in the 400 IM (4:51.52), while Mason Swanner topped his own mark in the 200 breast (2:21.34).

The Hornet men broke all five records in their relay events as Kevin Bennett, Kellen Campbell, Matt Fields, Hayungs, Jennings, Canaan Monteith, Swanner, and Jason Weed teamed up in the events.

Follow this link for full results from the 2019 Yellow Jacket Invitational.

The Hornet swim teams will now break for the winter before returning to action Thursday, Jan. 16, 2020 in a dual meet with Randolph-Macon at the Liberty University Natatorium.

--LYN--

Sat Dec 07
Bast-Cregger Invitational
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule