Sharkey leads men's indoor track to third at ODACs

Sharkey celebrates his 1-mile victory

Salem, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's men's indoor track & field team raced to a third-place finish Sunday at the Old Dominion Athletic Conference championship meet at Roanoke College's Cregger Center.

The Hornets collected 12 all-conference titles, highlighted by junior Reid Sharkey's (Fairfax, Va.) victory in the 1-mile race. Sharkey covered the distance in 4:22.18 to win comfortably.

He also finished second in the 3,000-meter run (8:59.35) and was joined by freshman Max Sparks (Canton, Conn.) on the podium, who crossed just behind at 8:59.84.

Lynchburg's men also finished two-three in the 800-meter run as junior Shawn Gmurek (Parkton, Md.) took silver in 1:58.93 -- a new personal best that ranks eighth on Lynchburg's all-time leaderboard -- and sophomore Clint Turbeville (Wilmington, N.C.) stormed to the finish in 2:00.06, taking third.

Five more Lynchburg athletes notched second-place results, led by freshman Alex Shadkhoo (Herndon, Va.) in the 200-meter dash (22.48, seventh in program history). Sophomore Julian Douglas (Lynchburg, Va.) also leapt into the all-time top 10, covering 22-3 ¾ in the long jump, the program's ninth-best mark.

Senior Tristan Lucy-Speidel (Fort Valley, Va.) ran the 10th-best 5,000-meter run in program history to finish second in 15:28.69.

Sophomore Jordan Short (Madison Heights, Va.) finished runner-up in the 400-meter dash (50.8), as did senior Dalton Hoppe (Buchanan, Va.) in the weight throw (47-5 ¾).

Lynchburg's relays also fared well. The distance medley relay comprised of freshman Jason Moench (Hamilton Square, N.J.) and sophomores Kobe Anderson (Katy, Texas), Andrew Hawk (Coplay, Pa.), and Andrew Johnson (Greencastle, Pa.) nearly stunned the field, finishing less than a half-second off first in the event. Their time of 10:49.65 ranks ninth all-time at Lynchburg.

The 4x400-meter relay of junior Kevin Moran (Milford, N.J.), senior Conor Cahill (Staunton, Va.), Anderson, and Short also took second (3:28.41).

Lynchburg's third-place finish is the best at the ODAC indoor meet since 2015, when the Hornets took second.

 

2019 ODAC Men's Indoor Track & Field Superlatives

Field Athlete of the Meet - Coby Cockrell, Va. Wesleyan

Track Athlete of the Meet - Davonta Womack, Bridgewater

Rookie of the Meet - Coby Cockrell, Va. Wesleyan

Coach of the Year - Brandon Uhl, Washington and Lee

Scholar-Athlete of the Year - Hank Patrick, Washington and Lee

 

Team Results

1. Washington and Lee 146.5

2. Bridgewater 139

3. Lynchburg 117

4. Virginia Wesleyan 58.5

5. Randolph 45

6. Roanoke 44

7. Shenandoah 34

8. Emory & Henry 20

8. Eastern Mennonite 20

--LYN--

No Event
Tue Sep 17
Tom Kinder Memorial, Lakeview GC, Harrisonburg, Va. -- Day 2
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Fri Sep 20
ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 1
Sat Sep 21
ITA Southeast Regional Championship, University of Mary Washington, Fredericksburg, Va. -- Day 2
Sat Sep 21
Fresno State
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Match
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
Parents Weekend
Sat Sep 21
2:00 PM
Southern Virginia
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Sep 21
4:00 PM
Mary Baldwin
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
4 Roanoke
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Non-conference match
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
7:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
7:00 PM
Randolph-Macon
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
3:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
7:30 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
Sat Aug 31
Final
2 No. 10 Johns Hopkins
0 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sun Sep 01
Final
2 Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.)
7 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
@ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
12:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 05
1:00 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
4:00 PM
Randolph
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Wed Oct 16
4:00 PM
Sweet Briar
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
5:00 PM
Roanoke
vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
View Full Schedule