Track & field shines at Dr. Jack M. Toms Alumni Invitational

Samantha Schreiber jumping a Steeplechase

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's men's and women's track & field teams combined for seven event victories Friday and Saturday at the program's home meet, the Dr. Jack M. Toms Alumni Invitational, on the track named in the legendary coach's honor.

Lynchburg's athletes also posted six Old Dominion Athletic Conference top marks on the weekend and broke into the program's all-time top 10 in nine events.

Freshman Jessica Cammarata (Ledgewood, N.J.) led the way for the Hornet women, having a part in three ODAC top times. The sprinter won the 200-meter dash in 26.0 seconds and followed that with a 400-meter dash victory (58.44). She then raced with sophomore Destaunia Perry (Boston, Mass.), sophomore Jackie Lerro (Royersford, Pa.), and freshman Zoe Scales (Danville, Va.) to win top honors in the 4x100-meter relay, finishing in 50.26 seconds, another top time in the conference this season.

Cammarata's 200m and 400m marks rank fifth and fourth on Lynchburg's all-time top 10 list, respectively, and the relay's jaunt sits 10th all-time at Lynchburg.

Seniors Endasia Mitchell (Perry Hall, Md.) and Samantha Schreiber (Gladys, Va.) also posted event victories. Mitchell won the 400-meter hurdles (1:07.03), and Schreiber won the 3,000-meter Steeplechase with the top time in the conference this season (11:33.35), just off her personal best.

Two Hornets put up ODAC top marks in field events, as senior Rachel Murray (Chesapeake, Va.) hurled the javelin a personal-record 129-7, and freshman Donzailya Berg (Stephens City, Va.) leapt 16-9 ¾ in the long jump. Both finished second in their respective events.

Murray's mark ranks fourth all-time in Hornet history, while Berg's mark puts her tied for 10th.

Sophomore Stephanie Burnett (Midlothian, Va.) ran the program's fifth-fastest 5,000-meters (18:10.53), finishing second.

Lynchburg's men also enjoyed success at the meet, paced by freshman Alex Shadkhoo (Herndon, Va.). He ran a PR in the 200, (21.58) to finish second with the ODAC's top time and third-fastest in program history. Shadkhoo also won the 100-meter dash (11.17).

Sophomore Jordan Short (Madison Heights, Va.), junior Reid Sharkey (Fairfax, Va.), and freshman Simeon Scott (Bedford, Va.) all posted top conference marks.

Sharkey ran the 1,500m in 3:56.02 to win the event and post the fifth-best race in Lynchburg history.

Scott cleared 6-4 to place second in the high jump, while Short was second in the 400m (49.53).

Junior Kevin Moran (Milford, N.J.) improved his hold on the eighth-best 400-meter hurdles for the second-straight week. Moran covered the distance in 54.48 to place second.

Lynchburg's track & field teams will hit the road next Saturday, March 30, to compete at Christopher Newport's Blue & Silver Challenge in Newport News, Va.

--LYN--

Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
Final
61 Lynchburg
42 at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
Sat Feb 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule