CNU holds off women's basketball's late rally

Molly Shephard shooting a free throw.

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's women's basketball team staged a late comeback Saturday afternoon but couldn't close the gap entirely, falling 74-65 to 16th-ranked Christopher Newport in the opening game of the Lynchburg Holiday Classic.

Senior forward Molly Shephard (Charlottesville, Va.) tallied a game-high 19 points and 11 rebounds, her sixth double-double of the season, while freshman guard Lizzie Davis (Knoxville, Tenn.) scored 16 points to go with six rebounds and eight assists.

Sophomore guard Carolyn Noe (Fairfax, Va.) added nine points for the Hornets.

Freshman center Kate Kolb (Morris Plains, N.J.) chipped in eight points and six boards off the bench.

Jessica Daguilh led the Captains with 18 points and 10 boards, and the CNU press defense was stifling. The turnover bug bit Lynchburg 26 times in the game.

Emory & Henry defeated Meredith, 70-54, in Saturday's second contest.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: No. 16 Christopher Newport 74, Lynchburg 65

Records: No. 16 Christopher Newport 9-1, Lynchburg 4-7

Venue: Wayne Proffitt Court at Turner Gymnasium, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • Lynchburg started the game with a 10-4 run as Shephard scored eight of the Hornets' first 10 points, but the Captains tore off the next six points to tie the game at 10. CNU closed the first period with an 8-1 run to open up a 22-15 lead.

  • The Captains held their lead through the second and went into halftime with a 41-33 advantage.

  • CNU opened the third with a 7-0 run to push the lead into double digits and led 64-45 with 10 minutes to play.

  • Lynchburg stormed back at the start of the fourth, however, as Davis' 3-pointers bookended a 15-2 run that cut the deficit to 66-60 with 5:42 remaining. That was as close as the Hornets would get, however, as the visitors closed the game with several scoring possessions.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets will wrap up the Lynchburg Holiday Classic with a 4 p.m. tilt against Meredith Sunday, Dec. 30. The game will follow the 2 p.m. matchup between Christopher Newport and Emory & Henry.

--LYN--

Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Dig Pink Match
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 25
Lynchburg
at Delaware State
Fri Oct 25
6:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Oct 26
at Hampden-Sydney Tiger Individual, The Manor GC, Farmville, Va.
Sat Oct 26
1 p.m.
at Emory & Henry
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Mary Washington
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule