Quarles breaks 3-point record in women's hoops' win

Photo of Maggie Quarles dribbling

Lynchburg, Va. -- Sophomore guard Maggie Quarles (Roanoke, Va.) set a new school single-game record with eight 3-pointers as the University of Lynchburg women's basketball team held off Guilford, 85-76, in an Old Dominion Athletic Conference clash Wednesday.

Quarles scored a career-best 32 points, going 8-for-11 from long range, to accent five rebounds and two assists.

Senior forward Molly Shephard (Charlottesville, Va.) added 20 points, six boards, and three assists. Shephard moved into the program's top 10 in career rebounds, totaling 555 over her four seasons in a Lynchburg uniform.

Senior wing Alex Allen (China Grove, N.C.) chipped in 11 points, while freshman guard Lizzie Davis (Knoxville, Tenn.) and freshman forward Erin Green (Poolesville, Md.) each scored 10. Green contributed nine rebounds, three assists, and three blocks, and Davis dished out a team-high five assists.

Lindsay Gauldin scored 30 points for the Quakers, who received votes in the most recent D3hoops.com top 25 poll.

The Hornets shot 54.9 percent (28-for-51) from the field and a season-best 10-for-19 (52.6 percent) from 3-point territory.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: Lynchburg 85, Guilford 76

Records: Lynchburg (8-9, 6-4 ODAC), Guilford (11-5, 8-2 ODAC)

Venue: Wayne Proffitt Court at Turner Gymnasium, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • Guilford stepped out to an early lead, scoring the game's first five points, but Lynchburg erased the deficit quickly to tie the game at 8 midway through the first. After two more ties, Quarles gave Lynchburg the lead for good with her first 3 of the night at 1:28 left in the first. The Hornets ended the period on an 8-0 run to lead 20-12.

  • Allen scored eight of her points in the second quarter to help the Hornets to a 37-29 halftime lead.

  • Lynchburg broke the game open in the third, out-scoring the visitors, 22-14, in the period. Quarles scored 11 points in the period.

  • Quarles stayed hot in the fourth, making all three of her 3-point attempts and adding three more points at the free throw line to score 12 in the period.

  • Guilford rallied in the fourth, cutting the Lynchburg lead to six with 2:30 to play. The Hornets were 13-for-17 from the stripe in the final 10 minutes, helping to seal the victory.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets hit the road Saturday, Jan. 19 bound for Bridgewater and a 2 p.m. conference tip against the Eagles.

--LYN--

Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule