Women's lacrosse falls at Mary Washington

Hannah Creasey cradling a lacrosse ball with her stick

Fredericksburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's women's lacrosse team dropped its season-opener Saturday afternoon, a 17-7 decision at eighth-ranked Mary Washington.

The Eagles scored the game's first five goals and never looked back.

Senior midfielder Hannah Creasey (Virginia Beach, Va.) led the Lynchburg attack with her third-career hat trick, the only Hornet player to score twice.

Sophomore midfielder Korinne LeMaire (Rehoboth Beach, Del.) and senior defender Joanna Perry (Ipswich, Mass.) each tallied three ground balls and caused two turnovers to anchor the defense.

UMW's Mackenzie Maguire and Allison Davis each had three-goal, two-assist days.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: No. 8 Mary Washington 17, Lynchburg 7

Records: No. 8 Mary Washington 2-0, Lynchburg 0-1

Venue: Battleground Athletic Complex, Fredericksburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • After UMW scored five straight goals to start the game, Creasey got the Hornets on the board at the 12:26 mark in the first half. The Eagles scored twice more before senior attackman Kelsey Nock (Salisbury, Md.) scored Lynchburg's second goal. UMW scored three more times in the half's final two minutes to lead 10-2 at the break.

  • Trailing 12-2, Lynchburg scored five of the game's next seven goals. Creasey tallied her two second-half scores, accompanied by goals from sophomore midfielder Maysn Whitten (Charlottesville, Va.), junior attackman Carly Sandler (Kennebunk, Maine), and junior attackman Kelsi Trevisan (West Chester, Pa.). Nock assisted two of the goals for her first-career multi-assist effort.

  • The Eagles scored three times in the final five minutes to bring the score to its final standing.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

Lynchburg will make its 2019 home debut next time out, Saturday, March 2, as Frostburg State visits Shellenberger Field for a 1 p.m. first draw.

--LYN--

Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Dig Pink Match
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 25
Lynchburg
at Delaware State
Fri Oct 25
6:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Oct 26
at Hampden-Sydney Tiger Individual, The Manor GC, Farmville, Va.
Sat Oct 26
1 p.m.
at Emory & Henry
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Mary Washington
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule