Women's lacrosse falls to No. 1 Washington and Lee

Madi Rupert passing the ball in a women's lacrosse game

Lynchburg, Va. -- The University of Lynchburg women's lacrosse team had a tough Senior Day with a 20-9 loss to the No. 1-ranked Washington and Lee Generals Saturday afternoon.

Senior midfielder Kaleigh Ridgley (Reistertown, Md.) and junior midfielder Danielle Hook (Alexandria, Va.) each earned two goals for the Hornets.

Senior attackman Alicia Sandoval (Montclair, Va.) collected one goal, an assist and a ground ball. Seniors Allie O'Leary (Salisbury, Md.), Hannah Creasey (Virginia Beach, Va.) and Madi Rupert (Forest, Va.) all scored a goal for their senior day.

 

THE RUNDOWN

Final: No. 1 Washington and Lee 20, Lynchburg 9

Record: No. 1 Washington and Lee (11-2, 5-0 ODAC), Lynchburg (5-7, 2-3 ODAC)

Venue: Shellenberger Field, University of Lynchburg, Lynchburg, Va.

 

HOW IT HAPPENED

  • Washington and Lee got a 5-0 jump on the Hornets early in the first half before Hook earned her first goal of the day with an assist from junior attackman Kelsi Trevisan (West Chester, Pa.). The Generals went on a six-point run until being stopped again by a goal from Hook assisted by Sandoval. Lynchburg ended the half with a last-second unassisted goal by sophomore midfielder Leah Dumas (Kennebunkport, Maine) to bring the score to 13-4 Generals.

  • Lynchburg put up a fight in the second half, but Washington and Lee managed to extend its lead. Cresey earned a goal on a free-position shot and brought the score to 7-16, but the Generals answered back with four more goals. The Hornet's ended the half strong with goals from Rupert and Ridgley, but still fell to the Generals 20-9.

 

LOOKING AHEAD

The Hornets will travel across town to continue ODAC play April 17 against the Randolph WildCats at 6 p.m.

--LYN--

Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Washington and Lee
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Dig Pink Match
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Fri Oct 25
Lynchburg
at Delaware State
Fri Oct 25
6:30 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Oct 26
at Hampden-Sydney Tiger Individual, The Manor GC, Farmville, Va.
Sat Oct 26
1 p.m.
at Emory & Henry
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Sat Oct 26
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Mary Washington
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Nov 08
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Fri Nov 08
6:00 PM
Albertus Magnus
vs. Lynchburg
@ Hood College MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
TBA
Lynchburg
vs. TBA
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Wed Nov 13
7:30 PM
Lynchburg
at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
6:00 PM
Pfeiffer
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
3:00 PM
Methodist
vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
TBA
Mary Washington
vs. Lynchburg
@ Newport News, VA CNU Classic
Sat Nov 23
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Chris. Newport
Christopher Newport Classic -- Game 2
Sun Dec 01
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
12:00 PM
Meredith
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Nov 15
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Sat Nov 16
2:00 PM
Colorado Col.
vs. Lynchburg
@ Emory University, Atlanta, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
7:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 07
Final
0 Maryville (Tenn.)
1 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Regent
10 vs. No. 22 Lynchburg
Wed Sep 11
Final
2 No. 16 Mary Washington
0 vs. Lynchburg
Fri Sep 13
Final
1 No. 13 Oglethorpe
2 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Sep 18
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 at Catholic
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
0 No. 13 Washington and Lee
0 vs. Lynchburg
Non-conference match
Sat Sep 28
Final - 2OT
0 Lynchburg
0 at Roanoke
Wed Oct 02
Final - 2OT
2 Lynchburg
2 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 09
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final - 2OT
3 Lynchburg
3 at Hampden-Sydney
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Lynchburg
4 at No. 6 Washington and Lee
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
7:00 PM
Shenandoah
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Fri Nov 01
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- First Round
Sun Nov 03
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBA
vs. Lynchburg
ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Sep 07
Final
1 Maryville (Tenn.)
2 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1
Sun Sep 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
3 vs. No. 20 Lynchburg
Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3
Sat Sep 14
Final - 2OT
2 No. 19 Lynchburg
3 at Emory
Sun Sep 15
Final
1 No. 19 Lynchburg
0 at Piedmont
Wed Sep 25
Final - 2OT
1 No. 23 Lynchburg
1 at No. 2 Chris. Newport
Sat Sep 28
Final
0 No. 23 Lynchburg
3 at Washington and Lee
Note time change
Sat Oct 05
Final
0 Bridgewater (Va.)
4 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Oct 09
Final
1 Randolph
5 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 12
Final
5 Lynchburg
0 at East. Mennonite
Tue Oct 15
Final
3 Lynchburg
0 at Ferrum
Non-conference match
Wed Oct 16
Final
0 Sweet Briar
9 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sun Oct 27
1:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
6:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
1:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Wed Nov 06
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ High Seed ODAC Tournament -- Quarterfinal
Sat Nov 09
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Semifinal
Sun Nov 10
TBA
TBD
vs. Lynchburg
@ Highest Seed ODAC Tournament -- Championship
No Event
View Full Schedule