Women's soccer releases 2019 match schedule

Emily Sanchez heads a soccer ball

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg athletics and head women's soccer coach Dr. Todd Olsen are thrilled to unveil the Hornets' 2019 match schedule.

Lynchburg will begin the season with three consecutive weekends of tournament play, starting with the Roanoke College Kickoff in Salem Aug. 31 and Sept. 1, where the Hornets will take on Johns Hopkins and Mt. St. Mary.

The team will return home the following weekend for the annual Shellenberger Classic, which will feature matches with Maryville and Kalamazoo.

The following weekend will see the Hornets off to Demorest, Ga., for the Piedmont Invitational and rematches with two of Lynchburg's 2018 NCAA tournament foes in Emory U. and Piedmont.

Road matches with Chrisopher Newport and Washington and Lee, the Hornets' Old Dominion Athletic Conference opener, finish off September for Lynchburg.

October is full of ODAC competition with home matches scheduled against Bridgewater, Randolph, Sweet Briar and Roanoke.

The Hornets will finish off the regular season Saturday, Nov. 2 against Virginia Wesleyan, during which they will celebrate Senior Night before readying for postseason play.

Lynchburg enters 2019 in search of the team's third-straight ODAC championship and 13th-consecutive NCAA Division III tournament berth. The Hornets finished the 2018 campaign in the national quarterfinals, compiling a 20-3-3 record and winning the program's 16th ODAC title. They were ranked ninth in the final D3soccer.com poll of the season.

See the full 2019 Lynchburg women's soccer schedule below.

2019 Lynchburg Women's Soccer Schedule

Overall 11-8-1
Pct. .575
Conf. 5-5
Pct. .500
Streak Lost 1
Home 6-2
Away 4-5-1
Neutral 1-1
Games 20
Goals 55
Goals/ game 2.75
Shot % .152
Shots/ game 18.1
GAA 1.38
Date Opponent Notes Result Status Links
August
Sat. 31 vs. No. 10 Johns Hopkins @ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase L, 2-0 Final
 
September
Sun. 1 vs. Mt. St. Mary (N.Y.) @ Salem, Va. Roanoke Invitational Soccer Showcase W, 7-2 Final
Sat. 7 vs. Maryville (Tenn.) Shellenberger Classic -- Match 1 W, 2-1 Final
Sun. 8 vs. Kalamazoo Shellenberger Classic -- Match 3 W, 3-0 Final
Sat. 14 at Emory L, 3-2 Final - 2OT
Sun. 15 at Piedmont W, 1-0 Final
Wed. 25 at No. 2 Chris. Newport T, 1-1 Final - 2OT
Sat. 28 at Washington and Lee * L, 3-0 Final
 
October
Sat. 5 vs. Bridgewater (Va.) * W, 4-0 Final
Wed. 9 vs. Randolph * W, 5-1 Final
Sat. 12 at East. Mennonite * W, 5-0 Final
Tue. 15 at Ferrum Non-conference match W, 3-0 Final
Wed. 16 vs. Sweet Briar * W, 9-0 Final
Sat. 19 vs. Roanoke * Homecoming L, 2-1 Final
Thu. 24 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon * Moved from Oct. 23 L, 4-3 Final
Sun. 27 at Shenandoah * L, 2-1 Final
Wed. 30 at Guilford * W, 2-1 Final
 
November
Sat. 2 vs. Va. Wesleyan * Senior Night | CODE RED Match L, 2-1 Final - OT
Mon. 4 vs. East. Mennonite % Match 1 - ODAC First Round W, 4-0 Final
Wed. 6 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon % Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals L, 4-1 Final
* Conference
% Post season
Bold team: Home event

--LYN--

Sat Dec 07
at Bast-Cregger Invitational
Roanoke College, Salem, Va.
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
2:00 PM
East. Mennonite
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
4:30 PM
Emory & Henry
vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 19
Final
1 East. Mennonite
3 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 19
Final
2 Roanoke
1 vs. Lynchburg
Homecoming
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule