Women's tennis tops VWU on Senior Day

Photo of Lynchburg women's tennis senior class with Coach Johnson

Lynchburg, Va. -- University of Lynchburg's women's tennis team closed the regular season on a high note Friday afternoon with an 8-1 win over Virginia Wesleyan in Old Dominion Athletic Conference play on Senior Day at the Crosswhite Athletic Club.

Lynchburg reached the 16-win plateau for the first time in program history, extending the team's best-ever season to a 16-2 record, 11-1 in ODAC competition.

The Hornets swept through doubles play, highlighted by an 8-0 win at No. 3 by senior Reagan Coon (Churchville, Va.) and freshman Alissa Anderson (Norfolk, Va.).

Singles play stayed much the same for Lynchburg. Top-flighted junior Christina Harris (Falls Church, Va.) became the first player to reach 60 career singles wins with a 6-0, 6-0 victory.

Sophomore Ellen Druebbisch (Jamestown, N.C.) also won without dropping a set at No. 5, as did Coon at No. 6.

Anderson at No. 3 and sophomore Emily Hoang (Sterling, Va.) at No. 4 also picked up singles wins for the Hornets.

The program honored its three seniors -- Coon, Lilli Altenburg (Lexington, Va.) and Sarah Wyly (Leesburg, Va.) -- prior to the match.

Lynchburg will carry the No. 2 seed into the upcoming ODAC tournament and will play an opponent to be determined in the quarterfinal round at Lynchburg on Wednesday, May 1 at 2 p.m.

--LYN--

Sun May 12
Final
7 No. 17 Lynchburg
4 at No. 1 Va. Wesleyan
NCAA Tournament - Virginia Beach Regional
Sun May 12
Final
2 No. 1 Va. Wesleyan
4 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
@ Virginia Wesleyan University, Virginia Beach, Va. NCAA Tournament - Virginia Beach Regional
Fri May 17
Final
2 No. 18 Emory
7 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 1
Sat May 18
Final
9 No. 18 Emory
5 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 2
Sat May 18
Final
10 No. 18 Emory
8 vs. No. 17 Lynchburg
NCAA Tournament - Lynchburg Super Regional - Game 3
View Full Schedule
Sat Apr 06
Final
6 Lynchburg
4 at Shenandoah
Sat Apr 06
Final
2 Lynchburg
3 at Shenandoah
Tue Apr 09
Final
6 Va. Wesleyan
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Apr 13
Final
1 Guilford
3 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Apr 13
Final
1 Guilford
4 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Apr 16
Final
10 Greensboro
2 vs. Lynchburg
Note time change
Wed Apr 17
Final
3 Lynchburg
11 at Hampden-Sydney
Sat Apr 20
Final
4 Bridgewater (Va.)
5 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Day
Sat Apr 20
Final
3 Bridgewater (Va.)
2 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Apr 23
Final
13 Lynchburg
11 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Sat Apr 27
Final
5 Lynchburg
6 at Roanoke
at Kiwanis Field
Sat Apr 27
Final - 11 innings
7 Lynchburg
10 at Roanoke
at Kiwanis Field
Tue Apr 30
Final
12 Lynchburg
6 at Greensboro
Fri May 03
Final - 12 innings
1 Lynchburg
2 at Roanoke
ODAC First-Round | Game 1
Sun May 05
Final
11 Roanoke
3 vs. Lynchburg
ODAC First Round | Game 2
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.