Volleyball bests Catholic in five to split Saturday action

Photo of Abbi Leeper serving a volleyball in a scrimmage

Bridgewater, Va. -- Spurred by huge matches from senior Sydney Frink and freshman Abbi Leeper, University of Lynchburg's volleyball team salvaged a Saturday split on day two of the Route 42 Classic at Bridgewater College, rebounding from a four-set morning loss to Meredith to top Catholic in a dramatic five sets in the afternoon.

Leeper tallied the first two double-doubles of her collegiate career, posting 31 kills and 22 digs for the Hornets (3-1) over the two contests. Frink had Lynchburg's first 20-kill effort of the 2019 season against Catholic and ended the day with 25 digs.

Senior libero Lauren Stanford totaled 59 digs over the two matches, including a career-high 38 versus Catholic.

The nightcap with the Cardinals (1-1) finished up a nailbiter as the two teams played 18-25, 25-20, 22-25, 25-22 into the fifth set. Trailing 13-9 in the deciding frame, Lynchburg mounted a 5-1 run to tie the match at 14 and eventually clinched the match on back-to-back kills by Leeper. The freshman closed out a fantastic weekend with a 15-kill, 11-dig effort; Erin Farina had 28 assists and 13 digs; and Annie Tynes tacked on 12 digs and four aces.

After the Meredith (3-0) took the first set in Saturday's opener, 25-20, Lynchburg responded with a 25-18 victory in the second behind six kills from Leeper. The Avenging Angels closed out the match with set wins at 25-21 and 25-9. 

Leeper had 16 kills in the match and 11 digs, while Farina had 20 assists, five digs, and a pair of aces.

The Hornets will be back in action next weekend at Gallaudet University's tournament in Washington, D.C.

--LYN--

Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Nov 08
Final
87 Lynchburg
78 vs. Albertus Magnus
@ Hood College, Frederick, Md. MMI Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 09
Final
62 Lynchburg
75 at Hood
MMI Tip-Off Championship
Wed Nov 13
Final
88 Lynchburg
68 at N.C. Wesleyan
Sat Nov 16
Final
69 Hampden-Sydney
74 vs. Methodist
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 1
Sat Nov 16
Final
80 Pfeiffer
91 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 2
Sun Nov 17
Final
99 Hampden-Sydney
108 vs. Pfeiffer
@ Lynchburg, Va. Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 3
Sun Nov 17
Final
69 Methodist
93 vs. Lynchburg
Wayne Proffitt Classic -- Game 4
Fri Nov 22
Final
84 Lynchburg
88 vs. Mary Washington
@ Newport News, Va. CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 1
Sat Nov 23
Final
77 Lynchburg
79 at No. 9 Chris. Newport
CAC/ODAC Challenge - Game 4
Sun Dec 01
Final
81 Lynchburg
68 at Bridgewater (Va.)
Wed Dec 04
Final
73 Lynchburg
78 at Ferrum
Sat Dec 07
Final
51 East. Mennonite
90 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 11
Final
61 Lynchburg
42 at Averett
Wed Jan 01
2:00 PM
William Peace
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Va. Wesleyan
vs. Lynchburg
Wed Jan 08
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph
Wed Jan 15
7:30 PM
Hampden-Sydney
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Emory & Henry
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Ferrum
vs. Lynchburg
Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Alumni Day | Coaches vs. Cancer Week
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Roanoke
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Nov 10
Final
60 Meredith
81 vs. Lynchburg
Tue Nov 12
Final
39 Lynchburg
70 at Averett
Fri Nov 15
Final
39 Lynchburg
52 at Emory
Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic (Game Played at Agnes Scott)
Sat Nov 16
Final
64 Colorado Col.
76 vs. Lynchburg
@ Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Ga. Emory Holiday Inn Tip Off Classic
Wed Nov 20
Final
73 Lynchburg
60 at Hollins
Mon Nov 25
Final
61 East. Mennonite
82 vs. Lynchburg
Wed Dec 04
Final
58 Lynchburg
49 at Randolph
Sat Dec 07
Final
67 Emory & Henry
56 vs. Lynchburg
CODE RED Game
Fri Dec 20
4:00 PM
Hood
vs. Lynchburg
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Sat Dec 21
4:00 PM
Lynchburg
vs. Marymount (Va.)
@ Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Shootout
Thu Jan 02
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Randolph-Macon
Sat Jan 04
4:30 PM
Johns Hopkins
vs. Lynchburg
Tue Jan 07
7:00 PM
Guilford
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 11
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Shenandoah
Wed Jan 15
5:00 PM
Washington and Lee
vs. Lynchburg
Sat Jan 18
2:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Va. Wesleyan
Wed Jan 22
7:00 PM
Lynchburg
at Ferrum
Sat Jan 25
4:30 PM
Bridgewater (Va.)
vs. Lynchburg
Alumnae Day
Wed Jan 29
7:00 PM
Hollins
vs. Lynchburg
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Shenandoah
4 vs. Lynchburg
Sat Oct 26
Final
3 Lynchburg
1 at Va. Wesleyan
Tue Oct 29
Final - OT
0 Guilford
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night
Sun Nov 03
Final
0 Randolph-Macon
2 vs. Lynchburg
Match 3 - ODAC Quarterfinal
Fri Nov 08
Final - PK Away
2 Lynchburg
2 at Hampden-Sydney
Match 6 - ODAC Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
0 Lynchburg
1 vs. No. 11 Washington and Lee
@ Hampden-Sydney College, Hampden Sydney, Va. Match 8 - ODAC Championship
View Full Schedule
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Thu Oct 24
Final
3 Lynchburg
4 at No. 15 Randolph-Macon
Moved from Oct. 23
Sun Oct 27
Final
1 Lynchburg
2 at Shenandoah
Wed Oct 30
Final
2 Lynchburg
1 at Guilford
Sat Nov 02
Final - OT
2 Va. Wesleyan
1 vs. Lynchburg
Senior Night | CODE RED Match
Mon Nov 04
Final
0 East. Mennonite
4 vs. Lynchburg
Match 1 - ODAC First Round
Wed Nov 06
Final
1 Lynchburg
4 at No. 14 Randolph-Macon
Match 2 - ODAC Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule